We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Met Our Needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights while moving our daughter into her dorm at U of M. We found the location to be perfect. It's a very short drive to campus as well as having several dining options very close as well as a mall. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean. One downside is that you have to pass the hotel's laundry facility on your way to the elevator. It is a busy location with staff coming and going and it smells like a laundry room. I highly recommend requesting a room on floors 2 and up. Due to location and value, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    160
    80
    31
    11
See reviews for
167
57
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great experience at this hotel. The staff was really friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and decent. (I was able to check-in early, a huge plus) I loved the free coffee, water and tea 24/7. (And the evening cookies!) Location was not ideal if you did not have a vehicle. But it is in a nice business complex area and the mall is very short drive away. Shout out to the front desk guy who let me use the staff mircowave! You saved my life!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As far as accommodations go, this place was everything you'd expect from a Hampton. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was sufficient, but the sincere service by the staff puts this place over the top. The personal note I received from Monequa expressing her heartfelt condolences during my family's time of need is unlike any gesture I've ever seen put forward by a hotel staff member. Thanks to her and everyone else on staff, this will be my hotel of choice if I ever find myself in Ann Arbor again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kell143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments concerning the staff. You can't really teach sincerity, so I am super proud to have real genuine people as part of my team who think about others effortlessly. Mo is certainly a shining star! We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Thank you,

Michelle McClintock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

When you get down to it, Hampton Inn's are all pretty much the same. Good reliable joint to rest your head. But the service at this hotel is fantastic. Shontequa H in particular was very helpful. Even saved me a cookie at the end of a long day. I highly reccommend the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor South.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring lake, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were bringing a child to U of M and staying for a football game. The hotel is close by and there was a shuttle available to the game. Parking is so expensive and difficult to find....be able to leave our car at the hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just had a great stay at the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South from Thursday, August 29 through Sunday, September 1. The staff was very friendly (to a person!), helpful and very professional. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast buffet is very good and the location is excellent. This is one of the best hotel stays our family has ever had and we will be back many times!!! A huge THANK YOU to the entire staff for a wonderful visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_McCready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Typical Hampton Inn furnishings, very clean , good breakfast and friendly staff. However, if you get a room with 2 beds, it is not spacious. The beds are doubles, not queens, and yet there isn't much extra space. We were 3 adults and it felt a bit cramped. If you are tall or heavy, you may find the beds a bit small for 2 adults to share. Also, the bathroom was small and there was no sink outside it. The sink/mirror area can only accommodate one person at a time. Air conditioner was quiet and worked well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spellboundmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing