We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“clean, but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“clean, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice clean room, but lots of noise in the hall way.
Breakfast area was small and crowded. The staff was nice and friendly.
Lots of TV channels, which is a plus for me.
I would go back because of the cheaper price for the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    165
    83
    33
    11
See reviews for
172
60
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Super hotel - located right of I-94 / State Street Exit.

Very friendly service...good rates for Ann Arbor area.

Fitness room needs a little work
When you call hotel direct, do not let them transfer you to 800-Reservations / Has been a bad experience almost every time this has occurred.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Excellent location, not exactly in the city's heart. A couple minutes away from the park and ride bus stop. Clean rooms, good breakfast, some parking space. Very close to the Briarwood Mall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband & I reserved a room at this hotel for Jan 18-21st. The room was adequate, though a bit noisy with a youth hockey team loud in the halls. During the night of the 19th, there was a power outage and we were not able to see to take a shower in the morning. It was very cold in the room. We were told to expect power restoration by 3:00 pm and there obviously was no breakfast. We went to lunch and returned to still no power. The assistant manager offered to refund our money for the 19th and 20th if we would like to choose to stay in another hotel nearby that had power. We opted for this and moved to another hotel. As of March 2nd we have not received the promised refund for the 2 nights and after leaving 4 messages for the managers at Hampton Inn, we still have not received a return call. This calls for a question of Hampton Inn staff integrity! All in all, not a pleasant experience at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean and comfortable King room with a very pleasant staff. We enjoyed our brief stay. Upon check in, the front desk clerk informed me that their were several youth hockey teams staying at the hotel...not thrilled to hear that news! She told me several times to call the desk if the noise level was too much and that they would take care of it. I appreciated her offer and did come close to calling but things quieted at a decent hour. Breakfast was crowded due to the hockey families but the selection of food was excellent and the staff worked hard to keep it adequately supplied.
We will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randall427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From check in to check out, the staff was very friendly.

The hotel was slightly dated/worn, but this is really hardly worth mentioning since it was really not bad at all. The location of the hotel was directly across the street from a business meeting location which was really nice since it snowed during the night and the roads were slick.

The room was very comfortable even though the bathroom was on the small side. The bedding was nice except I missed a top sheet, instead all I had was a duvet which meant I needed to turn down the room temperature a little to remain at a comfortable temperature with it on.

The breakfast included "eggs" and "bacon"; however, both of these seemed highly processed and weren't very tasty. The eggs were pale yellow flat disks with little flavor. The bagel/cream cheese and orange juice were good.

I was a bit disappointed that the fitness room was closed for remodeling. The pool and Jacuzzi looked nice and in a warm, very humid room - I didn't use these, but they looked pretty nice.

All-in-all, I wouldn't have any issues staying again for business but I'd probably look around some more for pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TickledBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and that our property to be conveniently located, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our new fitness room is now up and operating and I apologize that it was under remodeling while you were here. We do have a relationship with a gym across the street from the hotel that offers a wonderful selection of fitness equipement called One on One Fitness. Please be sure to inquire the next time you are in town.

Thank you
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to two hotels in Ann Arbor. Didn't like either one of them. This one was the better of the two, but I would not recommend it. We stayed here because it's near the university. Before I go back there, I'm going to check out the hotels in Ypsilanti and see if they are any better. It's just 10 or 15 minutes away. The beds are not comfortable. The breakfast area serves bad food (I threw mine out). Just not happy here. And the price is not right. It feels more like a motel. The only good thing about it is its location to the university.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon8here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing