We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean and comfortable King room with a very pleasant staff. We enjoyed our brief stay. Upon check in, the front desk clerk informed me that their were several youth hockey teams staying at the hotel...not thrilled to hear that news! She told me several times to call the desk if the noise level was too much and that they would take care of it. I appreciated her offer and did come close to calling but things quieted at a decent hour. Breakfast was crowded due to the hockey families but the selection of food was excellent and the staff worked hard to keep it adequately supplied.
We will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randall427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    192
    106
    40
    17
See reviews for
211
72
23
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

From check in to check out, the staff was very friendly.

The hotel was slightly dated/worn, but this is really hardly worth mentioning since it was really not bad at all. The location of the hotel was directly across the street from a business meeting location which was really nice since it snowed during the night and the roads were slick.

The room was very comfortable even though the bathroom was on the small side. The bedding was nice except I missed a top sheet, instead all I had was a duvet which meant I needed to turn down the room temperature a little to remain at a comfortable temperature with it on.

The breakfast included "eggs" and "bacon"; however, both of these seemed highly processed and weren't very tasty. The eggs were pale yellow flat disks with little flavor. The bagel/cream cheese and orange juice were good.

I was a bit disappointed that the fitness room was closed for remodeling. The pool and Jacuzzi looked nice and in a warm, very humid room - I didn't use these, but they looked pretty nice.

All-in-all, I wouldn't have any issues staying again for business but I'd probably look around some more for pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TickledBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and that our property to be conveniently located, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our new fitness room is now up and operating and I apologize that it was under remodeling while you were here. We do have a relationship with a gym across the street from the hotel that offers a wonderful selection of fitness equipement called One on One Fitness. Please be sure to inquire the next time you are in town.

Thank you
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to two hotels in Ann Arbor. Didn't like either one of them. This one was the better of the two, but I would not recommend it. We stayed here because it's near the university. Before I go back there, I'm going to check out the hotels in Ypsilanti and see if they are any better. It's just 10 or 15 minutes away. The beds are not comfortable. The breakfast area serves bad food (I threw mine out). Just not happy here. And the price is not right. It feels more like a motel. The only good thing about it is its location to the university.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon8here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has all I need in a hotel - decent clean room, good breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, even cookies at night. And a fitness room - except there are only two machines that are always occupied and no weights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We strive to deliver what you expect and then strive to exceed your expectations! Our fresh baked cookies are always a welcome treat for our guests and we added a hot cocoa bar with chocolate chips, marshmallows and peppermint too! I also would like to add that we are in the midst of renovating a new fitness room. Our current room is still open, but our new fitness room will have added fitness pieces. Please visit us again soon to see the new room.

Thank you,
Michelle McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is your standard corporate hotel, business oriented, functional. Great breakfast, although I left smelling like burnt toast from some careless diners. I knocked a point off the cleanliness factor for the clogged bath tub drain. I consider this an unacceptable and unpleasant issue. Otherwise this is a clean, very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnebago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

No heat in first room. Second room toilet overflowed into living space. We were not offered a different room. Staff placed garbage bags and towels over floor where it was wet. Tiles in pool ceiling were full of water and ready to burst.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferbb943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I completely understand your frustration that you had during your stay and we do apologize. It is not acceptable on how the leak was handled and the appropriate employees were retrained on how to better handle this type of situation. As with all Hamptons, we stand by our 100% Guarantee, therefore you were not charged for your three night stay. Please accept my apologies again concerning your stay.

Thank you,
Michelle McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for one night. Nice room, a bit small for two people, especially the bathroom, but nicely appointed. Location is easy to find back with other hotels and easy to access campus. Plenty of parking. Hotel was fairly busy, but not overly noisy. Compared to some of the other hotel options, this one is a decent value and you get your typical hampton inn experience. No complaints. We did not eat breakfast, so i can comment on that. There are so many other high quality options, such as Zingermans, go eat there instead!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and hope you visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing