We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for visiting U of M”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice option for visiting U of M”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for one night. Nice room, a bit small for two people, especially the bathroom, but nicely appointed. Location is easy to find back with other hotels and easy to access campus. Plenty of parking. Hotel was fairly busy, but not overly noisy. Compared to some of the other hotel options, this one is a decent value and you get your typical hampton inn experience. No complaints. We did not eat breakfast, so i can comment on that. There are so many other high quality options, such as Zingermans, go eat there instead!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and hope you visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    187
    100
    37
    17
See reviews for
200
71
23
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The weekend we stayed here was a football weekend in Ann Arbor. The hotel was packed to capacity. This location is south of campus and downtown Ann Arbor, and does require vehicle transportation. However, it is just a short walk away to The Briarwood Mall, and easy access off the interstate.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. There is no bellman as far as I could tell. The lobby was small but comfortable. And a nice touch was a glass dispenser of a fresh fruit water at the registration desk. Very nice after a long car drive.

The rooms are quite small but nicely decorated. All calm neutrals and an updated appearance. There are good bedside lamps for reading as well as a desk-unit quite suitable if one was traveling on business. Small closet and acceptable drawer storage.

I like that there was a card on the white bedding stated they guarantee the comforter is washed between each guest booking. A very nice amenities considering this isn't a high-end hotel. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows.

My only complaint is the very small bathroom. The sink, commode, and bath/shower tub are so close together it's uncomfortable. This is also not a user friendly space for make-up application, blow-drying hair, etc.; absolutely no way two people can use this at once.

I think the rate of $250 a night is VERY high considering the room size and location. (I've stayed at a lovely boutique hotel in the best area of downtown Chicago and paid the same price). However, perhaps the price was inflated as it was a the first fall football game at home. This hotel is strictly for function and not for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bubenreuth, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I frequenty stay here for business. During the week, I'm mostly satisfied as the rooms are clean, the staff mostly friendly and a good selection for the breakfast buffet. Just right for business travels.
On weekends however I had multiple times the issue that large groups of kids/teens are staying at this hotel (ice hockey team, skaters etc) which make it impossible to find some peace or quite - both during the day and even worth at night. The accompaying parents couldn't care less with their 6-packs of beer at hand and the hotel staff tries but is unsuccessful to get them quite.
So overall - good under the week, don't recommend on the weekend.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a fridge, as not every room has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went to Ann Arbor for Parents Weekend. Location was convenient and the service was VERY good, (for example, happy to call a cab to avoid crazy football traffic, got extra towels within a few minutes) and accommodated our kids' need for a bigger bed (by comping us an extra room when they did not have a cot available). Breakfast was solid. Rooms are tight for any more than 3 people of teen/adult size (the pullout was only a double which is too small for two). Would stay again when going to UMich since there are very few spots where you can walk to campus (there is a shuttle there for football game days).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments! Parents Weekend is always a fun weekend for the hotel. Our front desk staff is very knowledgable about the area and always happy to recommend dinner suggestions or places to visit. We are always listening to our guests comments so please don't hesistant to continue to let us know how we are doing. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for parents weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Despite the fact that the hotel was full, the service was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean, on the small side, but wifi is free and so is breakfast. I would definitely recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We don't like the idea of spending $200 for a Hampton Inn but that being said it is a relative bargain for a football weekend. We have stayed at other Ann Arbor hotels and this one was the cleanest and least beat up of all of them. They also have great cancellation policies. The rooms look like they have been recently renovated. The hot tub was broken which was a disappointment. All and all it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a water polo tournament at U of Michigan. Nothing fancy, but clean rooms. A bit on the small side. Breakfast is nothing special but good enough if you don't need a hot breakfast. Close to the school and the freeway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing