We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for the buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while moving my son into EMU. We had a regular room with two beds and it came with a flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The room was not huge but plenty big for the two of us. The hotel lobby and the room was clean and comfortable. We didn't use the pool or the jacuzzi but both looked clean and nice. Breakfast was typical with pastries, bagels, muffins, sausage, egg patties, and home fries. Our bill (with AAA) was about $110 per night which I found to be a very good bargain. The staff where friendly and helpful. The location is across the street from Red Lobster and next to Bob Evans but there are better restaurants nearby. This was the second time we've stayed in the EMU area. The first was at Marriott Eagles Crest which was much more upscale than The Regent but also much pricier. For the money, I think the Regent is a better buy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and the complimentary review of our staff and overall value of the hotel. It sounds like you stayed in a room with two pillow-top queen sized beds. We selected queen sized beds rather than double sized beds for our “double” rooms to optimize sleep comfort. Hopefully, that was a benefit you enjoyed in place of extra space. We look forward to hosting you for future visits to EMU and the Ann Arbor area. Be sure to take advantage of our billiards lounge, swimming and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a newer hotel to Ann Arbor, a bit off the beaten path but actually close enough to work well for both universities in town. We chose it because we wanted a suite as wecwere moving in our son to school and the rooms were fine. However, the second night they neglected to clean our room which somehow became our problem. I said that mistakes happen and suggested they give us a break on thecroom and instead got long explanation from housekeeping which I didn't care to hear after long day of moving. With all the choices in Ann Arbor we are not likely to return here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Mr. At,
I am sorry you were let down with the lack of cleaning in your room. I spoke to the director of housekeeping and she mentioned a few additional details. It is our policy to never enter any room with a do not disturb sign on the door. We are confident the sign was on the door because it is our policy to place a card under the door explaining we were not able to enter the room due to the sign on the door. She confirmed the note card was placed under the door explaining the do not disturb sign and the fact we would be more than happy to clean the room until our staff leaves for the day at 5:00PM.

Again, I am sorry your room was not cleaned but it is our policy to acknowledge all guest requests.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent two nights here during the NASCAR weekend, so fully expected the hotel to be packed. We were pleasantly surprised. The lobby/entrance area is nice and spacious and we were greeted with a smile. (Which is always appreciated after a long day of travel!) Our room was ready and definitely fit our needs for 2 nights. We had two queen beds. The mattress on our bed was ok, not horrible, but not great. Our bathroom seemed very "fresh" with a nice marble bathtub/shower combo and big vanity top with sink. However, the towels need to be replaced and were pretty thin in some spots. The pool/hot tub area was one of the cleanest I have ever seen at any hotel. I agree with other reviewers that the area for the comp breakfast is rather cramped, but with some patience it was no problem. The breakfast attendant was always refilling items and was happy to get anything for you that was out of stock. There is a Red Lobster across the street and a Bob Evans next door, plus grocery stores and a Target right down the road. Overall, it was a great stay and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Regent. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including the gracious service and fresh, updated amenities, and look forward to future visits. While most guests enjoy our pillow top mattresses, we do offer bed boards for those who prefer a firmer night’s rest. Please inquire next time you are here. Our housekeeping and laundry staff are trained to inspect and remove any towels that need to be removed from hotel circulation. We apologize yours did not meet your expectations, and will address this to ensure these items are removed. We are glad to hear our breakfast staff exceeded your expectations with their service and we will review our set up to ensure there isn’t a more efficient set up. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My family and I totally enjoyed our stay @ the Regent Hotel this past week. Even though we were only there one evening we would stay again if we come back to the area. The hotel is beautiful the outdoor courtyard was stunning and the front water fountain was beautiful we had a few photo ops. there. The room was quite nice and clean which is always a plus. If I had to say there was one downfall was the hours the pool and game room were closed. 10:00 seemed a little early since we travelled from the central time zone so it was only 9:00 and there wasn't anything to do for my kids once it closed.
If it could be open until 11:00 eastern time that would help us central time zone people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ann Arbor Regent. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed so many of our brand new hotel amenities, including the expertly maintained guest rooms and beautiful grounds. It is our goal to provide an enjoyable experience and a quiet nights sleep for all our guests. We have found that our current hours allow both the quiet nights sleep and the enjoyment of the pool and billiards amenities without being disrupting. We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I were just there for two nights this past week for his Grandmother's funeral. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and in fact when I called to book the room the staff member asked what our reason was to be in town and when I told her it was for my husbands Grandmothers death she gave us a bereavment rate, which I never knew existed. It was well worth the money, quiet and it was nice having the game room to come back to after a long day at viewings. Originally had made a reservation at another hotel - Clarion - once I read their reviews I canceled and changed to Regent due to their reviews and I would have to say they were all right on. Thank you for your customer service and if ever in Ann Arbor again this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNPCOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. Again, we are sorry for your loss and offer our condolences to your family. It gives us a sense of pride to know we were able to assist in your time of need. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Ann Arbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We reserved this hotel because of the nice things that people had said on this website and were happy that we did.
We were just in town for the art festival and this is farther than we normally stay but well worth very slightly further drive.
The pool is small but adequate. It was very nice to have after those terribly hot days of the art show.
The game room upstairs was unusual to have. We really enjoyed the shuffleboard.
The breakfast although small, was good and though the second morning there were no tables we took the food to our room and ate at the table there, no problem.
The room was clean, comfy, the toilet quiet, the refrigerator cold, (lol) but the room was somewhat small. This from two people who have a 5400 sq. ft house though, so take it with a grain of salt.
We really loved the layout of the hotel, nice courtyard outside our window the first night and the pool on the second.
Quiet hotel even though it was packed full for the art show.
Everyone at the hotel was wonderful, very helpful and friendly staff. From the cleaning people who took the time from their job to speak to us and ask if we needed anything to the very helpful and friendly front desk people who recommended a great university pizza joint the delivered, they were all so nice.
We will happily stay here again and will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrkwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review. We are glad to hear your experience was pleasant, you enjoyed our signature amenities and that our staff did a great job. Yes, the courtyard is the newest addition to the property, adding a serene place to relax outdoors and beautiful view from a number of our guest rooms. Thank you for your recommendations. We look forward to your return stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Hotel is well located though not so close to the main highway.
We had an overnight stay on our way back to Canada in a very good value. Rooms were big, renovated with a good quality style and beds very comfortable. Sleeping was good but the Hotel itself was noisy. Many young kids hanging around, naturally making lot of noise (it was also close to a weekend).
Breakfast was a tragedy. A few tables unable to host the great number of guests and a very poor selection of things. If I can give a suggestion to the Hotel management is to remove breakfast as a complimentary addition to the guests and increase quality of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AARmanager, Manager at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are glad you liked your room and had a restful night’s sleep on our pillow top mattress. We apologize for the noise you experienced. Our goal is to offer quiet nights. Our complimentary breakfast runs from 6:30-10:00 AM and offers a variety of hot and cold options. The dining area seats 30 , with additional seating adjacent to the breakfast area. We apologize that in this case, it did not meet your expectations. We try our best to select a variety of items that our guests enjoy and will continue to offer it complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Ann Arbor
Hyatt Place Ann Arbor
#11 of 35 in Ann Arbor
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
635 reviews
6.2 mi away
Weber's Boutique Hotel
Weber's Boutique Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites

Address: 2455 Carpenter Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1103
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $106 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites is ideally located along the Ann Arbor / Ypsilanti border with easy access to US Highway 23, Interstate 94, and close proximity to the University of Michigan, Eastern Michigan University, and area hospitals. Whether you stay with us for pleasure or business, you’ll find the Ann Arbor Regent will always exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel And Suites
Quality Inn Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing