We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near U of Michigan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near U of Michigan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Sheraton was clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced. We stayed on the club level, which provided access to complimentary breakfast and snacks during the day. The hotel is conveniently located near Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. We had one service issue on a Saturday night involving the door lock, and it was resolved quickly. The hotel is not fancy, but it is very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JP652,

Thanks for your business, kind words and taking the time to share your experience and recommendation. I appreciate it very much.

Hope to see you back soon - if i may be of service in the meantime, please call on me.

Warm regards,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    131
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
115
50
11
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Sheraton is so far one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Ann Arbor. Newly renovated, clean spacious rooms. Breakfast is ok, though not very interesting and staff is serviceminded and helpful. Free internet that WORKS is a great plus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Robin L,

Thanks so much for your business and kind words about your experience with us - I appreciate both immensely!

We hope to serve you again in the near future - until then, please let me know if I can do anything at all.

Hospitably yours,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel staff members were very friendly. They made sure my stay was pleasant. The room was clean and neat. We enjoyed the pool and the water temperature was comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Robin L,

Thanks very much for your business and kind words - both appreciated tremendously!
Hope to see you back with us soon. If I can be of service in the meantime, please call on me.

Warm Regards,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed the Four Points experience although the hotel did need an upgrade. How has it changed since becoming a full blown Sheraton property? Well, a positive development is that it partners with Starbucks. The welcome desk is now more personal although the personnel are less friendly (probably due to a change in the general manager). The lobby area is more open allowing for a far greater level of noise from the bar and surroundings, especially when there is a catered event or a UMich game. The 6th floor lounge food is way upgraded but its architecture is inconvenient with a long table (to share with strangers) dominating and a lack of individual or small group seating. Also, the coffee is hidden in a corner so a person preparing a cup blocks access to other food and drink. Food runs short and refills are long in coming. Patronage is not upgraded - a man ate breakfast in the lounge barefooted and in pajamas. Look - it is fine to stay here and earn SPG points, and we will surely return. I am just not sure it is an advantage over Four Points or, for that matter, the less costly Hampton Inn properties in town.

Room Tip: Go for lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSGPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DrSGPrice,

I appreciate your business and feedback very much. Sorry and surprised to hear that the vast improvements of our nine million dollar transformation were not more evident during your recent visit.

Perhaps on a future visit I can share them with you personally. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to call on me if I can be of service in any way.

Regards,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali Sun
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel can be had for really great rates if one chooses to the prepaid rate, please note this is not refundable and there are no cancellations when choosing the prepaid rate.

Rooms are clean and hotel has a great bar and also restaurant with good food.

Housecleaning was rather unfriendly otherwise everyone else there was very customer service oriented.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear vg247,

Thanks for your business and taking time to share your experiences - I appreciate both a great deal.

Thanks for the kind words, too - hope to serve you again soon. Please call on me if I can do anything at all.

Hospitably yours,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a nice overnight stay at the Sheraton Ann Arbor. Here are my thoughts:

General:
The hotel is very close to the highway (not so close that you can hear the passing cars, though!), so it's easy to get to. The sign indicating the entrance is somewhat small and not well-lit, though, so keep your eyes out after exiting the highway. The hotel looks very new. Ample parking with multiple entrances so you can get to your room quickly.

Check-in:
Nice staff, everything was done in about 5 minutes, including signing up for the points program. Check-in is right inside the front door. There are a few snacks and goodies just behind the counter available for purchase. There's a small but nice bar just opposite the check-in desk.

Room:
The elevators are a little hidden, down the hallway from the check-in desk, but easy to walk to. Workout area is just past the check-in desk and before the elevators -- it looked really nice, but I didn't have time to use it myself. I noticed the ceilings are pretty low, and the elevator rather small -- I'd say 4 people max could fit in the elevator without being uncomfortable. The decor is very, very nice, though, and the room was average sized. Large windows, in-room A/C unit but controlled by a wall-thermostat. Bathroom is a little on the small side, but has everything you need. Creative bathroom lighting, mounted in the mirror. Large closet, with iron and board, coffeemaker. 2 free bottles of water provided, a nice touch! The bed was incredible -- I slept so well! Nice feather pillows and a down comforter. Free wi-fi is also a nice touch.

Overall:
I really wasn't here all that long, so I didn't get to use the workout room or bar. The outdoor pool looked a little small, but again I didn't use it. This hotel kind of feels like a Hampton Inn with a few tweaks; I'd definitely stay here again, particularly for the price I found on a booking site online. It's a short drive to Ann Arbor proper, just up the road, and would be very convenient for a visit to UM. I definitely recommend this hotel for a business trip or short stay in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms that end in -01 through -04 are closest to the elevator and separated from the longer block of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jonny S,

Thanks so much for your business and wonderful feedback - very much appreciated.
Sorry you did not have an opportunity to experience the rest of our facilities. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to do so in the future.

If I can be of service in the meantime, please call on me.

Warm regards,
Steve Smyka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February 2012 while hosting a conference at the University. I was upgraded to the club floor. The room was tidy and everything was in order. This was my second stay at this hotel as I stayed at it while it was still the Four Points by Sheraton and I have to say the renovations are quite nice. I am also particularly fond of the club lounge at this Sheraton. Unlike many others, it is consistently stocked. The hotel restaurant is especially affordable when comparing it to other hotel restaurants. The food is well prepared. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BusinessTraveler1983,

Thank you for your continued business loyalty and taking the time to comment on your experience with us.

Hope to see you again soon. Please let us know if we can do anything in the meantime.

Hospitably yours,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel

Property: Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Address: 3200 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1774 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton - Ann Arbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ann Arbor
#10 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#12 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Sheraton Ann Arbor invites you to experience unparalleled service and accommodations while exploring Ann Arbor, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ann Arbor
Four Points Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Four Points
Ann Arbor Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing