We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

So this review is a little late but I have to say overall this is a great place. When we first arrived, my wife and I were greeted warmly by the front desk employee who was beyond helpful and kind. Rooms were very clean and up to date; everything is in working order. Now I am fairly easy going but my only complaint was the weekend night auditor who was beyond rude, all three times myself or my wife came to the desk and all three times she acted annoyed and started slamming things. This same lady also set our wake up call wrong, about 2 hours to early which wouldn't be to bad if we didn't drive for ten hours that previous night. Other than that, this was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It’s great to hear that you had an excellent stay. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant encounter with a staff member, thank you for bringing this to our attention. This issue will be addressed. We look forward to seeing you again at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

The set up of this hotel worked perfectly for our family. We booked two suites, each with two separate bedrooms and a living room (with fold out couch) and kitchen/eating area. We all had the privacy we needed, plus a comfortable space to hang out. We ended up using all the facilities - kitchen for re-heating things and making coffee/tea, fold out couch for a niece who wasn't part of the original plan. The space was pleasant, bedrooms small, but more than adequate. Nice and generous breakfast is served till (I think) 10 am, but we sat around the breakfast room with family for hours after that, and no one bothered us at all, but were quite welcoming. 24/7 coffee in the lobby helped conversation flow. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. All in all, it met our needs really well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It was our pleasure hosting your family. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I was there around Mothers day and they were giving all the ladies roses which was really sweet.

The breakfast includes Japanese favorites like rice and rice seasoning which I thought was both culturally sensative and delicious.

The property was OK, nothing exceptional. The free dinner was of course lovely.

The workout room was lacking with only two machines and one TV with limited channels.

May or may not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for completing our staff service. We pride ourselves on accommodating our residence every need. We thank you for the feedback and take all thoughts in consideration. We hope you choose to stay with us again at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the Residence Inn, Ann Arbor. Each time, the hotel was completely booked. This hotel tends to get pricy.

The pool and whirlpool are very small and outdoors.

There are a few BBQ grills and small room upstairs for exercising.

There are various assortment of rooms, studio, one bedroom and 2 bedrooms. Ours was 2 beds and small kitchen.

There was hair in the tub upon our arrival, but since this is not the 1st time I have seen this, I am suspect it is the cleaning brushes that leave hair in the tub.

The reception staff generally are nice, check in and check out are easy, but when asking for info. regarding the town, or Marriot info, the ability greatly varies.

The lobby is small but adequate. After 11pm, one of the 2 doors remains locked making it inconvenient to walk to the lobby at night.I am assuming it is for security for the one reception person at the desk, but the customer then has to walk in the dark to access the lobby.

The rooms could use some updating, but for us it was adequate. There are fireplaces in some rooms but since we were there in the summer, we never used it.

The buffet breakfast was ok, hot eggs, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt...even hot rice.
The staff all very pleasant!

The grounds are kept nicely.
The prices were high for a Residence Inn.



We enjoyed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your experience. We are pleased to hear your stay was pleasant. I apologize regarding your trouble accessing the lobby late at night. We do lock both doors for security purposes, but guests have access with their key cars at both. Hope to accommodate you again at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent Parent/Student Orientation at the University of Michigan at the Residence Inn in Ann Arbor - it is close to the mall, and a great location, close to campus, and the everything - - plus the rooms were huge!

Room Tip: Its a typical Residence Inn plan - room on the second floor is much more quite! However parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zj2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It was our pleasure to accommodate your stay visiting U of M. Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate hearing your thoughts. On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Well, having just stayed the previous nice in an immaculate and seemingly new Residence Inn, this place was a tiny bit of a let down. It almost is not fair to review it, comparing it to the other.

The room is nice enough but much older appearing with the appliances not being as nice. It is just not done in the same style and the furnishings are old. The mattress also hurt my back.

But it is a very comfortable place to stay. You can bring your dogs. Thank you! The grounds are really beautiful with gorgeous walkways frames with really nice platings.

It was also quiet. The thing that stands out is how friendly the staff is here. Very accommodating and nice.

I would highly recommend it although it is not as "nice" as the one in Pennsylvania.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend for someone traveling as a family or with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageurmonde19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for expressing your thoughts and recommendation. We love hearing that our staff was so accommodating and friendly to your family. I apologize you had issued with your mattress. The property will be soon undergoing renovations that will address all the cosmetic concerns. We hope to see you again at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Residence Inn was comfortable, quiet, and clean. I don't know where they find the people who work there, but they are the nicest people in the hotel industry! Great place to come with your dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxvilleTNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It was a joy to accommodate you and your pets! We thank you for complementing our hardworking staff. It is great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ann Arbor - Univ of Michigan
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#22 of 35 in Ann Arbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor

Address: 800 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2703 (Formerly Residence Inn Ann Arbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $82 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor is conveniently located near numerous local attractions, including the University of Michigan, and affords families all of the comforts of home with the extra space you need, and amenities that make traveling easier. Our spacious Ann Arbor suites are 50% larger than most hotel rooms, with full kitchens, daily housekeeping, and separate sleeping, working, and living areas. Stay balanced with hotel amenities, including a 24-hour fitness center, sports court, grilling area, outdoor pool and whirlpool (seasonal) and guest laundry. Stay productive with complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, business center with printing and fax capabilities. Enjoy our daily complimentary breakfast buffet and evening socials (Tues-Thurs) including all American favorites. Our Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor is your perfect all suite hotel in Ann Arbor and truly understands what you want out of your extended stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing