We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the 'Best Value' after all...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed April 18, 2007

I recognise that it was not an expensive motel however I would highly recommend paying a bit extra to stay somewhere nicer.

PROS:
- Across the road from Briarwood Mall (although it is a very busy road to cross).

CONS:
- Very poor reception staff. Not interested in you at all.
- Didn't accept travellers checks, the ATM was broken and I couldn't do an online transfer so I had to walk to the nearest gas station to find an ATM (thankfully not too far)
- Forced to haul a 75 pound suitcase up (and later down) a flight of stairs as no one would help when I asked for assistance (I am a small female!)
- I was there for New Years Eve and there were at least 50 people partying VERY loudly in the parking lot until 3 or 4 in the morning.. not a thing was done about this. I felt very unsafe.. I literally had my suitcase against the door (maybe it's lucky it was so heavy after all?)

The only good thing about my stay was its location across from Briarwood Mall.. however there are many other hotels as close or closer which seem to be much, much nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank laurrrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 210 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2005

I'm sure this once was a nice hotel but that it no longer the case. Our first problem occured as soon as we arrived and tried to open the door - we found out from the guests in the next room that you need to "play" with the card and swipe it slowly and then quickly several times to get your door to unlock. Once we were finally inside the deadbolt on the door and the chain lock were both broken - we obviously didn't feel safe.

The carpet in the room was filthy leaving our socks and feet black. Wallpaper was peeling in several areas. The grout in the bathroom was black and the fixtures looked ancient. There were stains on the bathroom ceiling and it was gross. We also had 2 ashtrays in a non-smoking room. The fitted sheets on the bed did not fit and there were holes in the blankets.

To make matters even worse there were cockroaches!!! I'm not sure how many my husband killed in the 2 nights we stayed there - he lost count.

Since we were there for the NASCAR race every hotel in Ann Arbor was filled to capacity including this one so we couldn't go elsewhere otherwise we would have. We didn't feel safe staying here and the kids were terrified even though they didn't see any bugs.

The good points about this hotel - the location is great. It is close to the highway and there are several restaurants in the area. It was also very quiet we couldn't hear the people above us or the people on either side, however, if someone walked by your room you could definately here them.

Bottom line, I'd rather sleep in the car than stay here again - at least it would be cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blonde_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank sandidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-693-ANNARBOR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyoung-june Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#27 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing