We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland decor, terrible housekeeping, old facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bland decor, terrible housekeeping, old facility”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September for a local wedding and couldn't have been more disappointed with the experience. We arrived early hoping for an early check-in and were told that they would call if our room was ready early. Well the 3pm check-in time came...and went...and we were still told that our room wasn't ready, well beyond the guaranteed check-in time. We ended up being late to the wedding.

Check-in issues aside, the hotel itself was less than mediocre. The bathroom was disappointing- the showerhead felt like spittle, and the toilet always appeared to be in danger of overflowing. The bed was not amazing, but fine for one night. The view from the window was of a highway.

I would not choose to stay at this hotel again, even if it was for just one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    121
    67
    41
    23
See reviews for
163
81
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were wary about booking the Kensington Court after reading a few 3 star reviews, but we were very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. The hotel was incredibly clean and nicely set up. As parents of small children with allergies, we really appreciate that this hotel is smoke -free and really means it! The staff was incredibly professional and nice. The indoor pool is a nice, full-sized pool that was a big hit with the kids. We also loved the proximity to the University and how easy it was to get everywhere. We will definitely be back next time we're in Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: No tips here - all the rooms are non-smoking and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The basics: I traveled with my 12 year old son and we stayed two nights (Friday & Saturday) while at the University of Michigan. I booked the room blindly through Hotwire since I got a good deal ($105 vs $139 best alternative I could find).

This hotel has a well-appointed lobby, an attached restaurant/bar, plenty of meeting rooms, and a ballroom. It does not cater to families (that's ok) and must market itself to large group sales or the daily business clientele. Does it succeed in doing this? Perhaps, as my stay during non-business days couldn't verify it, but I can tell you on Friday night, around 9:30pm when we got in, there were exactly six cars in the parking lot. If you assume the front desk person had a car, that meant we were one of five guests in a hotel of 200 rooms. Ever stay in an empty hotel? As my son said, "it's pretty spooky, dad".

Perhaps as my title says, their focus is in the wrong place. Why spend the money on the entrance when other areas are in such need?

The entrance way is under construction (seems like a big undertaking). That seems misguided when money could better be spent in the hotel rooms. How? Here's a partial list I made. The ceiling height in the bathroom was very low (around 6'6" total). The shower head was at eye level (I'm 5'10") and anyone taller than 6' would struggle to shower. The only towel rack is above the toilet and away from the shower (no hooks either?). The TP dispenser was unreachable from the toilet! The separate sink area (outside the bathroom proper) did not have any towels or racks! Upon entering the room, the light switch did not turn anything on. One pillow was dirty. The hotel also has only one set of elevators............not ideal if it were actually full.

There were some positives. The bathroom floors and walls were tile. The lobby was attractive. The front desk was attentive. The room TV's had a few premium channels. The swimming pool was very large (had a 9' deep end!), the sauna, hot tub, and workout room were all very nice. If the weather is bad, having a restaurant/bar option attached is ideal for business travelers.

I spent some time trying to think how to rate Kensington Court. I would return if traveling alone on business, if I highly valued the pool/sauna/weight room, and if I received a good price through the discount sites (Hotwire/Priceline). For a family visit or if you're paying rack rate, this shouldn't be your first choice as all the Holiday/Hilton/Sheraton chains are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a quick business trip, and the hotel was passable but not a great experience overall. The lobby is definitely nicer than the rooms.

Pros:
Lobby is clean, comfortable, and well appointed
Front desk staff friendly
Were allowed early check-in
Easy drive to anywhere on the Michigan campus

Cons:
My room faced the road and was fairly noisy
Had to slam my door to shut it
Bathroom was not very clean - hairs all over the shower, etc
Dead moth on the floor in my room, as well as a spider when I pulled back the covers
Strange smell (old? musty?) in the hallways and in my room
Rooms need a lot of updating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent several days here attending a meeting. The hotel room was clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. Wifi faded in and out at times. The hotel has a 1990 feel to it and needs to pay better attention to first impression details such as its dirty chandeliers, streaky front windows and dust covered music speaker in the lobby. There is an exercise room but the treadmill was not working the night we planned to use it. Location is safe and is right next to Briarwood Mall. Several dinning options are within walking distance and downtown is a couple miles north. We did not try the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gofar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visit Ann Arbor 3-4 times a year. The Kensington Court is a good value hotel with a very location next to the Briarwood Mall and only minutes from downtown AA and the U of Michigan campus.
Rooms are comfortable and clean. The front desk staff are friendly, courteous and helpful.

The hotel is not fancy, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel with a good location, consider the Kensington Court.

Room Tip: Be wary of booking rooms during University of Michigan home football games: room prices get jacked u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was decent, nothing fancy, probably a good value. Our room was clean. The property seems safe. One section of the hotel near vending machine was dilapidated, and there was only hot water from around 6:30am to around late morning. Too bad if you want to shower in the afternoon or evening, as I tried. Also, no box of tissues in the room. We ate in the restaurant twice for breakfast. Food was decent. The menu listed a breakfast buffet, but they did not have it either day. Possibly our visit was during a very low period and they cut back a lot of services. Next time I will look elsewhere, mostly because of the cold showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32tza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
2.8 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing