We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was booked into this motel by a client and it wasn't bad. But the property is definitely older. The restaurant was just so-so and the breakfast was not complimentary, something that I have come to expect at these rate levels. The view out of my window was a rooftop with air conditioning units. Very friendly service both at the reception desk and with housekeeping. I will stay there again only as long as someone else is paying for it.

Room Tip: Insist on not having a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Kensington Court several times over the years and will continue to go back. From our experiences it's the nicest place to stay in Ann Arbor (we've stayed at the Campus Inn, Michigan League, as well as other Briarwood Mall-area hotels). Good location next to Briarwood Mall and restaurants. Easy access to U of M main and athletic campuses. Nice pool (fix that noisy fan, please!). We stay on the Executive level with access to the concierge lounge -- a real plus! A recommended hotel in Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: Executive level with access to concierge lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reynoldsBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Kensington Court for 2 nights, and one of those nights was to attend a wedding reception in the hotel's banquet room. We were on the third floor, and the elevators were quick and the rooms were nice. The water pressure was good, the mini fridge was cold, and the beds were comfortable. Outside of outdated, difficult to set alarm clock/radios, it was everything we needed. We accessed free wifi from the room on our phones.The lobby area was beautiful and there was a free coffee bar every morning until 10. The pool, hot tub, and sauna is what really set this hotel apart - they were immaculate and the water was warm in the pool and plenty hot in the hot tub. The sauna was awesome, too. The fitness room looked nice, but we didn't try it out. The parking was ample, even during the reception, and the location is right off the expressway and nearby (walking distance) to the mall and many restaurants. The Michigan campus is only minutes away. The staff was also very nice. The reception was beautiful and the facilities were perfect. I highly recommend Kensington Court.

Room Tip: 370 and 371 were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was there for four nights for a conference. The service was good. But a group of youngters was there and they placed all other guests between the group who was really noisy. I made a complaint but the hotel did nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViveQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms were nice sized and well kept. Service employees were friendly and cooperative. But, there was nothing outstanding or exceptional. The bathroom was small without much counter space. The restaurant was decent and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trails44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

located close (perhaps a bit too close!) to a major highway intersection, this hotel is well situated for the business traveler, If you are looking for a vacation or stay/play and shop stop, this is not the place to be. While it has a few decent amenities and good little restaurant on site, it certainly is not the "luxury" hotel that it bills itself. Could use some updating but clean and tidy otherwise.. Sleep quality was good.

Room Tip: get a room facing the mall/ring road , not the highway or State street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A nice hotel, they were in the middle of renovating the hotel during our stay, nice clean room, the bed was nice, had a king room, a great value for the size of the room and quality, did not really have time to try all the hotel had to offer, was basically there to sleep and wake up early for work

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kensingtoncourt, Director of Sales at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear J Z,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Kensington Court. We appreciate your positive feedback, and hope to see you again for your next visit to Ann Arbor!

Sara Mitchell
Director of Sales
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
3 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#6 of 35 in Ann Arbor
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $106 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing