We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location and newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and newly renovated”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel looks like has been renovated recently which is always good. It is near the biggest mall in Ann Arbor and very close to the campus of University of Michigan. So if you are visiting friends or family at the University, this is a very good bet given that it is not as expensive as some of the hotels on campus in the University.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ster312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    120
    67
    41
    23
See reviews for
155
80
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Do not stay at this hotel. It is a disgusting hotel that does not want to help its guests either. We checked in during the afternoon and left one item on the bed and rushed out to the town of Ann Arbor. We did not get back until 1:00 a.m. and when we arrived, the room was stuffy and hot. We turned on the air and immediately it became hard to breathe as our throats closed because of all of the dust in the air. With eyes watering we went down and told the night staff that we had to leave because we could not sleep there. When I asked for a refund, I was told it was thru Expedia and I would have to deal with them. I called Expedia the next day, who called the hotel and were told that the hotel was refusing to give any sort of refund and were charging me for 3 days at the hotel. Only after calling them several times did they agree to give me a refund for the last 2 nights there but they have still erfused to refund my money for the first night even though I did not sleep there. There are many other quality hotels in the area. Again, do not stay here. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelT0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Hotel Review in a nut shell:
-blood drop in bath tub
-7 ft popcorn ceilings
-horrible decor
-peeling molding wallpaper
-water damaged furnature
-crappy TV
-broken bed.

Literally the worst hotel ever. All it was missing was some drugs and a dead hooker under the bed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The arrival area is partly blocked by a silly fountain that spewed water on the sidewalk. The lobby area is pretentious but dated. Night staff very pleasant, friendly and informative. Room average size but ceiling height is unusually low. Furniture is a bit below average. One bed was partly disassembled with headboard simply standing behind the bed leaning against the wall. Cleanliness was OK, not great. TV in room was quite old and the picture quality poor. An old coffee maker with excellent large mugs . Generic coffee and a couple of tea bags were provided. WiFi was free. Bathroom was OK with towels of medium quality and excellent shampoo etc. Shower pressure low, but water was of sufficient temperature. Overall a somewhat "tired and dated" impression all around. Three computers next to the front desk are very old, i.e. slow and buggy, and have not been updated in a very long time. The morning staff at the front desk not particularly pleasant or attentive. Strangely, the hotel is physically attached to a Holiday Inn. Maybe that would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DX-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Unfortunately, the group rate offered to the guests attending an event was not the lowest rate available for another guest, checked through hotels.com, week before and got a better rate than we did having booked two weeks before our stay under the group rate. Upper management unwilling to make the adjustment on our higher rate to match the rate paid by guests in our group.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitWashington_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The lobby was nice, but the hotel is old. The ceilings are really low in the halls. The age shows, the hotel is in need of a renovation bad. The wallpaper was starting to peel, and there were gaps around the vents that made it look shoddy. Also it took about 15 minutes (no joke) to get hot water out of the shower. I actually called the front desk and they sent maintenance up. The guy just let the shower run longer.

The pool was nice, but the ceiling tiles had water stains that suggested a leak, In the morning I could see the pool roof from our room and it was obvious there were problems there. There was sagging between each truss and it looked like a series of waves.

The executive lounge was nice. The breakfast there was typical continental, the same that you would find at a cheaper hotel for free.

Grahams, the restaurant attached, has always been good. Not great, but consistent over the 5 or 6 times I have been there over 3 years.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Nice pool area, but lots of things were lacking in this place. Service was nice, though.

The faucet flew off during a shower and a jet of water was shooting from an exposed copper pipe. Almost caused an injury.

They moved us and upgraded us to the only wing in the hotel that had been updated in the last 15 years, or so. The executive wing.

Despite attentive service, this hotel is clearly headed downhill and I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank super-fan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing