We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently outstanding”
Review of Logan

Logan
Reserve with OpenTable
Logan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 592 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main St.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

In the past Logan was a good restaurant, but it was also inconsistent and, I thought, overrated. No longer. For at least the past few years, it has been outstanding. A recent meal there confirmed this view. Every part of the meal, from amuse bouche and appetizer through the perfect fish entree and the dessert, was just about perfect; and this was true for everyone in our group. This is almost certainly the best high-end restaurant in Ann Arbor or the surrounding areas. The only minor complaint is that the service is a bit slow, with the gaps between courses too long. But even on that point, Logan is no worse than many high end restaurants and better than most, and the servers are extremely helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crs107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great time. Good food. Almost a 5.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Service was wonderful. Our server Eddie was personable, friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. The shaved Fennel salad was awsome. The Caesar salad was rather ordinary - not a hint of garlic but at least a somewhat authentic-leaning (non-creamy) dressing. The truffled goat cheese ravioli had a nice texture but was very rich with a creamy sauce and heavy parmigiano reggiano finish. The sea scallops for an entree melted in your mouth - yum! Despite discussion with server regarding cooking of the Mahi Mahi special (seared and not overcooked) it was totally dry, overcooked, and hot to the touch through and through. The Mahi Mahi was removed from sight and bill without argument. Dessert mousse (choc and pb&j - 2 styles on plate) was very ordinary. Good selection of top shelf single-malt too. Relaxed atmosphere and not a bit pretentious. We appreciated being able to order 3 different vegetables as sides. For the #1-rated restaurant in town, I expected perfect cooking (and no re-dos) thus a "5" isn't possible on this visit. No regrets though. Will try again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great food, small bar, snooty clientele. My pasta was unreal and the entre was similarly fantastic. I would return but four chairs does not a bar make. I went solo and all the tables were filled and the four seats at the bar mostly sat empty so if you plan to visit make a ressie. food was outstanding!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbmuther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
593 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Fennel Salad”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed an evening meal here recently. The evening's curry-lentil amuse bouche starter, though a bit bland to my palate, was nonetheless a nice touch. Our asparagus tempura offered good temperature and texture contrasts as the warm, deep-fried batter enveloped lightly cooked asparagus spears. Served on a bed of mayonnaise-like dressing, plenty of roasted sesame seeds provided a slightly smokey flavor. My crab and avocado appetizer was rich and cool.
I found the fennel salad a real standout. Shaved fennel heat filled my mouth with warmth even after the last of it was gone.
The bacon and eggs salad was wonderful too. The eggs tasted absolutely fresh from the farm! Christopher, our waiter suggested a perfect Perlotto Sangiovese to go with the Moroccan hen — a cornish hen, served with couscous, carrots and Moroccan spices. My companion raved about the entree-portion cheesy ravioli.
Based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, we tried bread pudding as well as rice pudding desserts. The smaller size servings do not demand sharing. Both were very good. Coffee comes from a local brewer and it is fresh, strong, and hot.
Wooden chairs within the establishment are a bit uncomfortable. Seating is limited and high ceilings make it louder when fuller. We found the small, round table for two by the window romantic and perfect for dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Agree with the high rating”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very creative meal. Nice touch with the complimentary lamb curry. There were five of us and ALL our meals including desserts were amazing. Did not overcook my fish - always critical. Will definitely return and it is worth the cost.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ricemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logan also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Logan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing