We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just saw a groupon for this and rememberd how bad our stay was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Adrian, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just saw a groupon for this and rememberd how bad our stay was”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here last feb. This place is gross, Totaly dirty all the way around. We got one of the hot tub rooms for one night. it was gross. there was dirty socks, underware and a slipper under the bed, but that was nothing. I found used syringe under ther as well. front desk didnt care. I saw this great deal on groupon but quickly realised it was this place and didnt buy it.

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    92
    88
    87
    72
See reviews for
154
77
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I checked in on Thanksgiving day and was given a room in the back half of the hotel which is beyond the pool area. The room itself was ok, not very spacious but the room was clean except for some hair that was on the floor in the bathroom which I noticed on Friday morning. As another reviewer had mentioned there was only 3 pillows on the king sized bed and they were small. The front desk staff however I did not find very helpful at all. They were dismissive of any of the needs the guests. The vending machines in the hotel have very old product in it so bring snacks with you. I was woken up very early in the morning due to screaming and yelling between guests in the other room. I do realize that this is not the fault of the hotel but it did make me wonder how thin the walls are. I don't think I would stay here again as I would have stayed at Webbers but they were booked. The fan in the bathroom was so loud that it would wake you up if it was put into use. All of the doors leading to the outside are not secured even though they have the keyreaders for them. This did not sit well with me as anyone could be going through the halls with no security in place.

Room Tip: Lower rooms in the back of the hotel are not enclosed, the doors to those rooms have street access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I normally stay at Candlewood Suites, but they were booked up, so thought I would try this Clarion. I appreciated the reviews that suggested staying in the Business Tower for nicer rooms.

I stayed in the Business Tower and the hotel was virtually booked solid. Lots of football traffic and what appeared to be a family reunion.

PROS: Room was quiet. I loved having a fridge for water and fruit. Felt very safe there, as a single traveler. Bathroom was clean. Room did not smell a bit of smoke. Well lit. Very easy access from freeways or downtown Ann Arbor. Parking was well lit and abundant. Fantastic price.

CONS: Compared to other hotels in the area, this one could use a facelift and some botox. It just felt "old", but not in a historic way. Tables were nicked up. Couldn't plug my cell phone into the outlets b/c they were not screwed into the wall tight. King sized bed had 3 small, square, flat pillows. Sofa did not look like one I would sit on.

In fairness, I got a great price by traveling with my company. The staff, the peace and quiet; and overall cleanliness all made for a fine overnight.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, as for business tower. Or north side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I am here right now visiting relatives and I am impressed with the hotel. It is a nice clean place and the staff is okay. I would return if I came back to Ann Arbor for a visit. The continental breakfast allows you make a nice crispy waffle with sauce,try it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for a football weekend. It is very conveniently located to the game and the highway. If you are coming from Chicago (west) this is a much better location than staying on the other side of town by US 23. The facility itself is 2.5 stars. It's an older (run down) motor lodge. But given that, it was clean and spacious. It had a great two tier lobby area that surrounded the pool that made it great for our group to sit around and reconnect before and after the game. We had kids swimming and adults sharing drinks and conversation in a comfortable area. Not as new but not as utilitarian as a new Hampton/Fairfield Inn. This place is just fine. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms faced out into the parking lot - I had to change rooms after being assigned one as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skay448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Ann Arbor for a business conference. It has to be said that the staff at this hotel are wonderful and will go above and beyond to make you happy. I helped coordinate arrangements with Patty Baker, the Director of Sales and Catering, and she was very willing to negotiate and work collaboratively to meet our groups' needs. I also had many dealings with the head chef, front desk staff, Sales Manager, and General Manager of the hotel during my stay. While there were some unforeseen challenges such as some trouble with the check in computer system, there was nothing that would lead me or the group I was traveling with to say anything negative about this hotel and conference center. The rates are reasonable and the hotel is a short drive away from a nice downtown area; public transportation to this area is sparse, so I hope you have a car if you want to visit the surrounding area. The head chef and his staff are particularly noteworthy; he is up every morning facilitating a fantastic continental breakfast (complete with sausage, eggs, cereal, muffins, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, etc) and he's around for every dinner service ensuring that guests are happy with their meals. The Sales and General Manager are equally attentive to guests' needs and work hard to come to quick, fair decisions that make things easy and keep stress levels low, which is what you hope for when you go away on business or vacation!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the third or fourth floor--the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor facing the road are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maple107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Used points to reserve a suite-style room with a hot tub ... these non-smoking rooms smelled like a smokers' paradise ... found some lighters in a broken sofabed ... dirty sheets and towels ... ants crawling across the floor ... air conditioning didn't work in two of three units -- took 2 hours to repair. Bathroom mirror was cracked. No cups, glasses, or amenities. Had to check out a day early and received absolutely NO compensation for all the trouble. Indoor pool water temperature was uncomfortably warm. Free hot breakfast was served out of a small corner bistro bar -- plenty of food, but unappetizing -- extremely cramped for space. Hotel staff could care less!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion Hotel C, Manager at Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We're happy to notice that you're a Choice Privilege Member and you got the opportunity to redeem your Choice Privilege points while staying with us in a Jacuzzi Suite.
Our property has a Smoking Free Policy and we're working on enforcing this. The fine for caught customers that do not comply with this policy is $250.
We constantly try to enforce this Smoke Free environement policy.
"No cups, glasses, or amenities". The Jacuzzi Suite that you had, is always fit with 2 water glasses with covers, Filter Coffee Machine, Refrigerator, TV. Close by in the hallway is a Vending Machine and Ice Machine.
"Indoor pool water temperature was uncomfortably warm"- Our Maintenance Department is constantly checking on the temperature and quality of the water from swimming pool.
It always comply with the standards for the water in the swimming pool, as drawn by the specialized bodies that checks this.
" Free hot breakfast was served out of a small corner bistro bar -- plenty of food, but unappetizing -- extremely cramped for space. Hotel staff could care less! "
As we noticed this as well, we set up from December a second station for the hot breaksfast, as this is very appreciated and we always have good response on hot breakfast. So now is no queing. Thank you for this comment. As you see we're improving taking in consideration your observations.Hope we'll book again with us to see improvements being done here under the new management that took over in 1-st December 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor

Property: Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Address: 2900 Jackson Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-2012 (Formerly Clarion Hotel and Conference Center W)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown, two miles from the University of Michigan, and nearby a wealth of Ann Arbor businesses and attractions, we invite you to stay at our Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor hotel. Whether your travels bring you to visit a loved one or to conduct business at Toyota Technical Center, or to visit a student at The University of Michigan, our location, as well as our first-class service, will ensure you are comfortable throughout your stay. In addition to a great location, Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) is a mere 21 miles away, as well as a myriad of Ann Arbor and Detroit attractions, sporting events, and parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Ann Arbor
Best Western Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing