We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner! A real winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sava's

Sava's
Reserve with OpenTable
Sava's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State & Liberty / Huron
Transit: Lines 609 and 18 stop less than a block the the North on Huron, and Lines 4 and 3 stop on Liberty. Also, the Blake Transit Center located at 4th and William have regular incoming and outgoing buses from the greater Ann Arbor area. More information is available at www.theride.org.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great dinner! A real winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our fine dinner and service was great. The spinach dip appetizer was excellent as was each of pasta dishes. The restaurant has a great location next to the UMich. We visiting the campus again in 10 days and yep, we're coming back to Sava's too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4starrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    190
    51
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
215 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The brunch buffet is the way to go! Not only do you get a creative array of breakfast food (not your typical been-there, done-that omelette station) but delicious vegetarian and non-vegetarian frittatas, salads, loxs and baked goods, but you get a mimosa or a bloody mary for $1.00 more!! I would go every sunday, if I lived in AA. Let's keep this place our little secret.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place, so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went with a friend on her recommendation. Pleasant atmosphere, and noise level less than I would have expected given layout, crowdedness, etc. My entrée was a steak-and-potato salad; interesting concept, but not, in my view, entirely successful; I don't really expect (or want) a lot of chewing to be involved in eating a salad. Good flavors, however; addition of blue cheese was nice. Did not have dessert or app.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank critiquer862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
522 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food is good, but nothing outstanding. We ate upstairs next to 2 large parties and it was too loud to have a reasonable conversation across the table. The other people were not overly loud; it is just a loud restaurant in general. Sitting downstairs is better, but still, the food does not warrant a quick return on our part. Nothing overly wrong with the place, but nothing out of the ordinary either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sava is quickly becoming one of our favorites restaurants in town. The food has always been exceptional, bit I did notice when they were first opened that the wait for a table seemed to be long not because they were overly busy (busy, yes, but not overly), but because they wanted you to feel that the experience there was something worth waiting for. Even when we went last week and the restaurant was nearly empty, when they found we had no reservation, they acted as is they would have to search high and low to accommodate us. More and more restaurants seem to be doing this. All that aside, every meal there has been great. We usually start with the bang-bang shrimp. Just the right amount of heat. I love the steak salad and the pasta dishes are good also. There are many interesting cocktails to choose from, so I recommend taking a look at the cocktail menu and ask questions of the server for any clarification. The servers are very well-versed on the menus. If you want a pleasant outside dining experience that is not directly on a busy street, try Sava. The patio alongside the building is lovely and it's much more quiet out there. We were impressed that the owner, Sava, actually pitches in and helps when she's there. She bussed our table one night and it gave us a chance to talk to her a bit. Everyone on staff is very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leezee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sava's also viewed

 

Been to Sava's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing