We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place and a wonderful inn keeper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnt Toast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnt Toast Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“A great place and a wonderful inn keeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Our stay was brief, just one night, but it was memorable. A beautifully restored home on West Williams a couple of blocks from Main Street. Close enough to walk to lots of great restaurants in town but far enough away to have a great neighborhood feel. Our host was an extremely kind person who made us feel at home. We stayed in the attic - very cozy, luxurious bathroom, comfortable bed. Cool art throughout the house. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
43
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I had my wedding reception at The Burnt Toast Inn on Washington. The backyard was intimate and immaculately landscaped and just the right setting for my small(ish) party of 80.
Sarah, though a little flighty, managed to get everything organized and/or available on time and precisely, was very accommodating of our requests, and was overall a joy to work with. I feel like we made a lifelong family friend in the process!
We had our official religious ceremony out of state in my husband's hometown, and then came to Ann Arbor to have our party and another unofficial prayer in the gazebo during our gathering. It was both festive and sacred and afterwards we had our band play and people danced in the back yard.
Unlike most wedding venues we were not limited to what kind of vendors, or how many different caterers we could use. Since my husband and I have very eclectic tastes we wanted to have all our different favorite Ann Arbor foods at our celebration. We had several small cakes around the party from two different bakeries and food from Le Dog, Shalimar, Seoul Garden and Chop House. It was a lot of work, but very worth it.
The cost was very affordable compared with other locations we'd researched, and the rooms were clean and very nicely appointed. For dog lovers Buddy and Bo are the sweetest, friendliest dogs who melt everyone's hearts.
The Burnt Toast Inn isn't just a venue or a B&B, it's an experience I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KajunKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the Burnt Toast Inn of Ann Arbor earlier this month and had a fantastic time. The house is gorgeous, and Sarah has gone out of her way to make her guests comfortable. We loved everything from the robe & slippers in the closet, chocolate on the pillow, and a delicious breakfast in the morning. I hope we are able to stay again soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurashalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful overnight stay in the Washington House of the Burnt Toast Inn. We booked at the last minute and Sarah very easily accomodated us. We had the entire house to ourselves and were welcomed by a spacious, well-appointed bedroom and a large bathroom stocked with shampoo, conditioner, lotions, oils and bath salts. We really enjoyed the front stoop where we unwound with a bottle of wine at the end of the evening.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, with everything from granola and yogurt to eggs and bacon. Conversation with Sarah and the other guests was light and the atmosphere was extremely relaxed.

I would absolutely stay at the Burnt Toast Inn again and I am recommending it to my entire family who passes through Ann Arbor annually on our way up North.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbower2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I recently visited Ann Arbor, MI for the first time and stayed at The Burnt Toast Inn on William St. It was marvelous on all counts.. I had a lovely, spacious room with a very comfortable, high,four poster antique bed with top quality, ironed linens, reading area, etc.. The bath was spacious ,also, with both an old-fashioned claw footed bath tub and a modern shower with two shower heads.

The Inn is filled with interesting objects from around the world, as well as many beautiful antiques. The owner, Sarah, was an absolute delight -- engaging, hospitable, and helpful. She also made a delicious breakfast every day.

The cozy living room was inviting for reading and socializing, as was the large front porch, where I enjoyed reading and watching the world go by. The location was convenient to both the University of MI and downtown. I found it an easy walk to both.

I felt very lucky to have found this charming B&B for my trip to Ann Arbor..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonfcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

While we waited (for our daughter to meet us for dinner) we sat on the porch with a glass of wine and Sarah the owner came out with a cheese tray.! Between the wonderful dogs and Sarah we couldn't have felt more welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexmanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I loved this place -- rooms were very comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and Sarah was an incredible host. This place offers all that you could ask for from a B & B plus more: Sarah was a font of information about Ann Arbor. And the location, of course, couldn't be better. Thank you for a lovely stay -- I will be back and I will be sure to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHousehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.7 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnt Toast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnt Toast Inn

Property: Burnt Toast Inn
Address: 415 W William St, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ann Arbor's historic Old West Side, just three short blocks west of Main Street, The Burnt Toast Inn is walking distance to everything -- downtown shopping and dining, University of Michigan central campus and athletic events. Relaxed atmosphere; beautiful, comfortable amenities such as down and 100% cotton linens; natural/organic breakfast. Free wireless internet. Friendly dogs. Whole house rental available. The Burnt Toast Inn houses an antique / art gallery, featuring primarily Japanese art. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing