We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable Holiday Inn near highway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unremarkable Holiday Inn near highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located right off the main highway and outside of Ann Arbor proper, the hotel appears to be a favorite for budget travelers and visiting graduate students. The rooms are standard Holiday Inn issue. Nothing remarkable, with some nice perks, such as refrigerator and microwave. On the downside, you have to hunt for plugs behind furniture -- be prepared to crawl around looking for available outlets. The breakfast buffet was low-end, basic, and not complimentary unless you're a "platinum" priority club member. Good business center and helpful, though sometimes overrun, single front desk staffer after 6 p.m.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TechPAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    69
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
32
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stay in the executive wing. It does not cost much more, but it feels exclusive. The hotel has a fun restaurant/ sports bar with a good menu - not gourmet, but sports bar good. And they have an excellent pool and fitness area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while on business. I don't typically stay at Holiday Inns, but it seemed to be the best choice from what was available by the time I booked. The room was clean and I found the bed very comfortable and selection of pillows a nice touch. I chose breakfast items off of the menu and found the selection more than adequate, though the omelets were a little overdone for my taste. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the lobby was small. I sometimes like to work outside of my room and in a more relaxing atmosphere and, because there weren't any tables, my only other option was to use the business center. Great location for shopping and restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for four nights for baseball Tourny and it was great! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel as well as our suite was very clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. We had a couple of minor issues with the tv and toiletry items, but were taken care of instantly. The manager was proactive and attentive, as well as his staff. Overall a great experience! Ann Arbor is a wonderful town. Plenty of restaurants and hotels. While there, we had a chance to visit the art fair and it was well worth the hassle of getting onto a shuttle bus for a five minute ride. Forget driving there, there's no place to park. U of M is awesome!!! We also had a chance to try the korean restaurant next door and liked it. The only negative remark i have about Ann Arbor is the way the roads are designed, confusing, an inconvenience and semi-dangerous. I definitely recommend visiting Ann Arbor and staying at holiday inn & suites on broadway. Thank you holiday inn & suites for making our stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Bring garbage bags if you're traveling with family. Garbage can hotel provides is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachballonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here one night in 2 queen room with family of 5. Room was smaller but new and clean. Beds were very comfortable and they had different firmness pillows that were labeled as such. Kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub and there was plenty of seating and towels.

Hotel has nice location, across from Briarwood Mall and short drive to UM campus and hospital. There are plenty of restaurants in area to choose from, many within walking distance. Good option for a short stay whether business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn while on a business trip. There was a bit confusion initially finding the right hotel as there are a coup,e of Holiday Inns in the area. Although clean, The decor looks tired and breakfast is monotone and ordinary. On the plus side, it is next to a large mall and the bus stop is walking distance if you want to go down town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I've been staying at this hotel since it opened a few years ago. After staying in a newer Holiday Inn in Louisville, KY, just before arriving here, I was aware this time of just how dated the decor is at this one.
However, the hotel remains very convenient, clean, and friendly. It is within walking distance to my work.
The only caution here is to avoid any restaurant food other than breakfast. The breakfast is fine, but dinner is not.
The rooms are very comfortable, and the bedding is excellent. All in all, a recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashvillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
2.8 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Address: 3155 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#10 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Ann Arbor s Newest 100% Smoke-free Hotel The Holiday Inn and Suites Ann Arbor, Michigan features 107 non-smoking guest rooms, including 18 spacious standard and Jacuzzi suites. Our beautiful guestrooms include plush pillow-top mattresses, refrigerators and microwaves in every room and so much more. Amenities include our full service restaurant and lounge, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille which offers affordable dining, cocktails and room service, a full-service business center, indoor pool, whirlpool, spacious fitness room, and free high-speed Internet access. With 1300 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, we are Ann Arbor s small meeting specialist. Nearby attractions include Detroit Wayne County Airport (DTW), which is just 25 miles from the hotel, University of Michigan's Main Campus, downtown Ann Arbor, and Michigan s Stadium, or the Big House are just 3 miles away. We are also just four blocks from Briarwood Mall which features shopping and a wide array of restaurants to choose from. We are conveniently located near the following businesses: Google, Proquest, Thompson Reuters (formerly Thomson Medstat), Toyota Technical Center, Service Brands, U of M, Sorenson and Affinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing