We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for what we needed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
First Street Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Berlin,WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect place for what we needed.”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Mere words cannot say what a great place this is. It was the perfect match for what we needed. I contacted Kathy about 9 months ago to reserve the rooms. My husband and I and another 2 guys had the whole house to ourselves. It was wonderful. We were there for a Wisconsin Badger game. We walked everywhere. It was about halfway between the stadium and downtown. We stayed 2 nights and the breakfasts were unbelievable. We had sherry in the sitting room, champagne at night, perrier water in the room and even could have had a picnic in the backyard if we wanted. Kathy and Mike will do just about anything for you. Never met nicer people while on a trip. There was only one drawback and that was the train early Saturday morning at 3am and 5am going through. It had to blow the horn several times at about 4 or 5 intersections. Kathy also made sure we had a map of the town and told us of several places to eat and things to do. She also told us that about 75 people had contacted her for the house after I had reserved it, so I'm so glad I researched as early as I did. This is a beautiful 100 year old home in a great location.

  • Liked — All the little extras that we didn't expect.
  • Disliked — The train noise one morning.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbk54923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We came to Ann Arbor for my brother's wedding knowing we'd need a peaceful place to relax during our free time. My mother googled 'Ann Arbor Bed & Breakfast' and thought the First Street Garden Inn sounded nice; she was right. The breakfasts were of very high quality - I'm not an early riser when on vacation, but for this week made sure to set my alarm lest I sleep through the morning and miss breakfast! The rooms were lovely and very clean; the bathroom off the front room was especially beautiful. I enjoyed reading in the garden and watching the Olympics in the comfortable TV room. My family and I highly recommend to all Ann Arbor travelers the First Street Garden Inn!

  • Liked — Breakfasts & garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

My wife and I spent two nights in the suite, a spacious and well-decorated room. Kathy and Mike are incredibly nice and helpful and Kathy's breakfasts were the best. One morning included cheddar and chive scones...the best scones my wife has ever had

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank GrandStreetBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2008

As a research student I've spent a lot of time traveling around the United States by myself which can be very lonely. Motel's are never homely, so I was delighted to find Kathy and Mike's B&B which completely exceeded my expectations.

Throughout my prolonged stay I was made to feel at home. Mike and Kathy are extremely affable, and generous to the point of my embarrassment. They really went out of their way to help me get around and give me dining (and drinking!) ideas. Mike even connected me with a fantastic interview subject for my thesis!

Their home was extremely comfortable, and I was encouraged to enjoy the space - dining room table (for work), TV room, piano etc. Breakfast was a real treat with a different menu every morning - especially impressive given that I stayed two weeks!

I will definitely stay there again if I ever return to Ann Arbor.

  • Liked — Homely atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rossnicolson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at the First Street Garden Inn in April, 2008. Kathy and Mike, the owners, have lived in Ann Arbor for 15-plus years and could tell us almost anything that we wanted to know about their town. We found that they were always willing to help. In fact, they drove us to the University area and offered to pick us up also.

Their Inn is very charming--love the art deco touches and the fresh flowers; all is very clean and neat. The meals were delicious and different each morning. They asked about special dietary requirements and what time we needed breakfast in order to work with our schedule.

All in all, it was a great stay, specifically tailored to our needs and definitely well worth the money. We will certainly be back.

Kathie and David Blanding

  • Liked — Location and catering to our specific needs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kansas-sailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2008

A lovely facility and the hosts were so helpful. They both went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and informative. The breakfasts were delicious, the beds cozy, and the atmosphere restful!

  • Liked — The peacefulness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Small and personal, the innkeepers are super hosts. They were so helpful with hints and ideas for my daughter and I as we used the inn as our base while we looked for an apartment for her for when she will move to Ann Arbor for graduate studies at UM. Breakfast was yummy - everytime! The rooms were charming and spacious. My first B&B experience, I may never stay at a hotel ever again!
Joyce

  • Liked — Congenial innkeepers
  • Disliked — 2nd floor, stairs only
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msjlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#16 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Street Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Street Garden Inn

Property: First Street Garden Inn
Address: 549 S 1st St, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-4947
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Street Garden Inn of Ann Arbor has many comfortable antiques, original hardwood floors, decorative woodwork, and stained glass windows. It is fully air-conditioned and the vintage home offers a cozy, romantic blend of past and present. A piano, stereo, and afternoon tea are available in addition to the breakfast provided and the free dedicated WIFI. Our two guest rooms provide a comfortable, home-like visit for our guests. The innkeepers are long-time Ann Arbor residents who can help you find just the activities you want during your trip to Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1st Street Garden Inn
First Street Garden Hotel Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing