We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Banquet

We were here for a Christmas party as U of M employees in the OR for the oral team. Very nice... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Dave A
,
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Best kept secret in Ann Arbor - Do not miss!

First, Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum are two properties in different locations... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jesser007
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 389 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ann Arbor
from $10.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
255
106
25
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
255
106
25
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's garden nichols arboretum plants and flowers plant sales parking fee bonsai exhibit hiking trails winter blues vegetable garden perennial garden gift shop per hour plant life wonderful place to visit free admission year round conservatory
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 389 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2019

This was my second time here with my son and his fiance. The trails are beautiful and some are right on the Huron River with benches for sitting and enjoying the river. We also walked a trail that meandered through tall pines and prairie. This is a very peaceful and lovely park and gardens and one of my favorite places to visit in Ann Arbor.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank JULIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

We brought our kids to the gardens and met our friends with their kids. We spent the morning looking for Fairies in the Garden which the girls adored. My eldest child (15 yr boy) enjoyed his time looking at all the different plants. We also walked around outside - the patch by the stream. We would have loved to spend more time outdoors, however the children's area did not look "open for business". We ate lunch at the picnic tables outside. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank spalmbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

We went to Matthaei in May and due to,our cold spring it was just a little early to see much outside except the bonsai displays which were excellent. However, the conservatory was very interesting and well labeled.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

We didn’t take the big path and we spent about an hour and half there . The bonsai were worth the visit and there was plenty of things blooming to see and smell. Cost was donation plus parking fee of $2.55

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank JLZMcFarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed the few hours we got to spend here. Great hours (open until 8 pm on a Sunday). The conservatory portion was fantastic, with a few fruits from trees available to look at (now I know what a cacao fruit looks like!). The outside grounds were also really enjoyable. There were signs posted about the presence of the Eastern Massasauga Rattlesnake, which we would have loved to have seen. Admission to the grounds is free, with a suggested donation to visit the conservatory. We did not pay for parking because our conservatory membership offers reciprocity here.

Definitely stop here if you are in the area.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank JenMInOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews