We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not sure about the southwest part” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe

Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 580 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: William
Transit: There is a bus stop at Fourth and William Streets.
Florence
Level Contributor
285 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not sure about the southwest part”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I did find an item on the menu that was southwest… but they have so many other items that aren't. The cafe is very small and you feel like you are sitting on top of one another and not much privacy. I thought it was good but I guess I was wanting "mexican" a little more than what I tasted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    51
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
260 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wish I could visit this place more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have eaten at here multiple times. Everytime the food has been just outstanding. Fresh, delicious and incomparable. Had the best buffalo meat I can remember and also the best butternut squash soup. This place rocks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
284 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner at the Prickly Pear. I split the pork and plantain enchilada with my husband. It came with rice and beans. It was really good. My husband ordered the mushroom bisque. I tried a little and boy was it good. Best mushroom soup ever in my opinion. I had the slaw which is a nice fresh alternative to traditional salad before dinner. The portions were on the large side but not overly so. A lot of the couples around us were splitting the fajitas. My margarita was very tasty. It is a small restaurant so call ahead. It is loud and not romantic but it was fun. the service was just fine. I was told if there is a college football game in the area, forget about it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlinda6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh, creative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We always eat at this restaurant when in Ann Arbor and it never fails to satisfy. The atmosphere is great. There is indoor and outdoor seating. It's a great place for chips and margaritas, or for a family dinner. When we brought kids, the waiters were helpful and accommodating. The menu is varied and creative yet also has basic tacos and enchiladas as well. The stuffed peppers were wonderful. The salsas and sauces are fresh. The desserts are delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Prickly Pear is one of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor. The food is alwashrimp and ys awesome and somewhat unique. The shrimp and scallop quesadilla is outstanding! My only complaint is the inside is very small and tight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgoblue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing