We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Conor O'Neill's Traditional
Reserve with OpenTable
Conor O'Neill's Traditional is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Liberty/Williams
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stop by Conor O'Neill's as it did look like a trad Irish pub from the outside. Ordered an Irish coffee and was very disappointed. The whipped cream was chemical tasting and coffee was weak with little brown sugar, if any. My husband and I shared a Strawberry Rhubard Crumble that is a trad dessert in ireland. Not bad but not enough to draw us back. If you want trad Irish pub grub and atmosphere it would be best to keep looking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneWiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    65
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Such a great Irish place!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Classic Irish pub dishes, great beer selections. Can't beat it - will be there again in a few weeks!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank nitw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place .. good fish and chips .. stay away from the "Irish" meals”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went today for lunch here ... lovely location .. beautiful City .. I'm Irish so was expecting something tacky but was very impressed ... there was no one seated at the bar but this was to be expected at lunchtime .. I ordered the traditional Irish boxty meal ... been a chef in Ireland for years so was intrigued to what this would be ... my 2 guests ordered Fish and Chips ....waiting staff were fine and friendly .... American ...nice people ... anyways food came out and as soon as i saw my meal compared to the guests i knew i had made the wrong choice ... i had salad .. something that looked like a burnt pancake and inside was chicken and frozen peppers etc and sprayed on top was some sort of mayo .... i ate the chicken which was freezing and left the rest ... I'm not going to condemn the place for this .. i should have stuck to what i knew ... but if i was this restaurant i would take this dish of the menu ... it felt like Gordon Ramsey's kitchen nightmare eating it .it really was terrible .. worst dish i have ever been served .. my 2 guests enjoyed the Fish and chips and fish sandwich .. the fish sandwich had processed cheese on top of the fish which was a bit odd .... i ate the last bit of my friends fish and chips .. i really should have complained but i felt odd being the token Irish guy .... bar/restaurant was nice .. something i would expect to find in a place like Dublin or Belfast ...my advice go here but avoid at all costs the authentic "Irish" dishes and to be honest there maybe would be a cheaper alternative very near by

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good food and good atmosphere. Would recommend the fish whether it be with chips or as a sandwich. Of course the Guinness also helps.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A great find for Irish trad music entertainment”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After spending quite a bit of time living in Ireland, I tend to be rather picky when it comes to imitation Irish Pubs. Thus far, Conor O'Neill's has been my favorite pick in Michigan. I was rather disappointed in their lack of Irish butter served with the brown soda bread (and by the quality of the soda bread as I can make a better version at home with little effort), but other than these small complaints I was pleasantly surprised. The fisherman's pie and Irish stew were well seasoned and came in very generous portions. I was also very happy to find a place in the U.S. that serves Bulmers (sold under the name of Magners here in the States). The icing on the cake was the trad music session in the evening. Over 15 musicians came together and played a great set - took me back to all the nights spent at the local pubs of Dublin city.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waverider681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conor O'Neill's Traditional also viewed

 

Been to Conor O'Neill's Traditional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing