We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, perfect breakfast diner”
Review of Northside Grill

Northside Grill
Ranked #92 of 592 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service, perfect breakfast diner”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Northside Grill was suggested to me by a friend who works at UM hospital. I have been swimming at the early am (5:45-7:15) practice at the outdoor Fuller pool and was looking for a place to go after practice for breakfast while Angelo's was closed . I like to walk to get my legs stretched out after swimming. This is 0.7 mi from the pool and was a perfect distance to get to/breakfast/from and in time for work. The service was fast and friendly. I only had about 20 min once I arrived and had no problem with eating what I needed, full glass of water, OJ, and couple of cups of coffee.I could create my own omelette and it was delicious.(3 eggs, feta, spinach, onions, mushroom). Fresh squeezed OJ helped replenish my potassium. When my waiter(Todd) came around to offer my third cup of coffee and I told him that I wished I could but was in a hurry , he offered me a cup to go. (With my walk back to my car and the leftovers I already had from my omelette/hash browns/toast, I really didn't want to carry anything else). My hash browns could have been done a little more but considered it my fault as I forgot to order them extra crispy like I normally would. It was a quaint breakfast diner experience--just what I was looking for. Though it was a little pricier than Angelo's, that would not keep me from going back. In fact, I will likely return next week--with my daughter in tow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast with very friendly and welcoming service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Tried this restaurant for breakfast based on reviews from Roadfood.com. Connie (our waitress) was incredibly welcoming and friendly. Blueberry and Apple Bran pancakes were amazing. Egg sandwich was delicious as well. Definitely will be back again. New favorite breakfast spot in Ann Arbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenerandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Get yer grub on!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I dined here for a late breakfast on a Monday. It's off the beaten, eatin' path but to its credit - off street parking, great coffee and super fast service. The food was flavorful and quick to land on the table which was a plus. The traditional diner atmosphere suited the area but is in need of a bit of freshening up (place looked a bit beaten up). I was impressed to have the coffee offered by the name of the maker - they do justice to Roos Roast in the freshness department. Can't speak to the lunch offerings but breakfast choices were well planned. I'll be back -

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Mediocre Fare.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have dined here several times over the years, and if you want soup right out of the can, and the company of A2's old hippies, this is your place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank medievalwummin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Weekday Breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Late (9:30) breakfast on a weekday with 8 family members was wonderful. Fine french roast coffee for the snobs at the table, standard blend for the joes. Kids and kids at heart went for pancakes--terrific blueberry, tasty oat bran with blueberry, and plan, all large fluffy and delicious. The breads are a standout here, from raisin to chewy rye. Generous skillets are nicely balanced among ingredients.

Local Clancy's Fancy hot sauce is a must with eggs or potatoes.The atmosphere is a joint, the music is good jazz. Although I didn't get it this time, the house-made bearclaw is terrific, especially warmed a bit.

On weekends, arrive before 9a or wait in line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northside Grill also viewed

 

Been to Northside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing