We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Eastern European Restaurant”

Amadeus Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine Eastern European Restaurant”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have gone to this establishment on two occasions in the past year and each visit has been a good one. We have had guests with us on each occasion and have all ordered something different both times and everyone in our party felt each dish was prepared very well. They have a nice selection of Polish and other European beers and their desert menu has a number of great choices and are delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So romantic”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got engaged here 22 years ago - lovely, cozy, unobtrusive live guitar music and of course, great food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and service and always consistent”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fortunately we eat at many Ann Arbor restaurants the past 14 years and they are usually very good. They do differ in food options and prices. Amadeus is one of our favorites. A typical eastern European style restaurant and very different from all of the other places on or near Main street. My wife loves the 3 perogies as an appetizer with their excellent dill soup and their basic salad. She always selects this combination. They have many options I enjoy so I frequently select their Polish plate which gets me several of their main options together. Bottles of wine are good and reasonably priced as are the dinners. They typically have 7-8 excellent deserts if you want this option. Coffee is also typically european which we enjoy. If given the option, we always elect to sit at one of the two window tables in the front.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rating”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's a nice and friendly restaurant , and I have had a great time with my friends in there plus the service was great and our waitress serves us so nicely

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Polish food + exquisite Viennese desserts”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amadeus has all the Polish classics: pierogi (six different kinds), kielbasa, cabbage rolls, and more. The lunch atmosphere is light and airy, while the dinner atmosphere is romantic (with music and candlelight Friday and Saturday nights).

Try the dill pickle soup (which resembles a more delicate cream-of-potato in appearance) -- it's light in texture but savory, flavorful and delicious, especially if you like fresh dill. You can't get this anywhere else in Ann Arbor, and it beats any you can get in Hamtramck, hands down.

The pierogi plate is a solid appetizer -- you can get a combination of six pierogies for only $8 filled with all kinds of flavors (sweet cheese, pork, potato, mushroom, farmer's cheese, sauerkraut). They come garnished with sour cream and breadcrumbs.

If you are going for dinner, try the Bitki and Kopytka (pork medallions with dumplings, covered in homemade pork gravy). That's another thing you can't find anywhere else -- the dumplings are fresh, and the pork melts in your mouth.

Leave room for desserts -- a variety of fancy and traditional desserts from Poland and Vienna. My favorite is the Polish Poppyseed cake, which they serves with custard and sliced strawberries.

Despite it being renowned for being a world-class restaurant, the sights, smells, and sounds of Amadeus make you feel like you're in grandma's dining room. It's very comfy, cozy; service is never rushed. It's old-fashioned in a lot of ways -- in other words, it's a nice place to go on a date with your boyfriend or your grandmother. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amadeus Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amadeus Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing