We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Ann Arbor-ish”

Arbor Brewing Company
Ranked #59 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A trip to Ann Arbor isn’t complete without visiting the city’s first brewpub, Arbor Brewing Company. Situated in a historic building at Main and Washington Streets, it’s an award-winning pub that has been making its mark with craft beers and fine eats since 1995.ABC, as it’s known to locals, not only brews beer right on site, it’s also known for it’s progressive menu centered on locally sourced, natural, and sustainable foods with unique options for both vegetarians and meat lovers.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Ann Arbor-ish”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The atmosphere is great and fun. The beer selection is very local, so if you're a craft beer lover, you'll probably love this place. If not, you might not be satisifed with the selection. The food is interesting. It's definitely not your typical bar food. More like gourmet bar food, if there is such a thing. The staff are friendly and the service is good. The garlic fries are great, if you love garlic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbeccal0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    107
    40
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disapointed”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Beer was good, the food was over priced and not very good. Homemade chips were terrible. Suggest if your hungry eat before you sample beer.

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, good fries, classic brew pub”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beer is good, food is good, good place to meet a bunch of people. They have a side room for events. That is really all I have to say, but I have to get to 100 characters apparently.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Getting more and more disappointed with their food!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As much as I LOVE the beer at ABC, the food servings keep getting worse. Just the other day, I went in during happy hour ($2.50 for a beer--great deal) and ordered a burger and fries. The burger bun was so small; I thought it was a slider, not a burger. Although good, it only took 3 bites to get through it. There was a pathetic amount of fries on the plate. All in all, I paid $16 (before tip) for a burger, fries, and beer, which was WAY too much given the small portion of food. Sadly, ABC is just good for the beer in my opinion! Eat elsewhere nearby and then go for a drink or two!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Arbor Brewing Company Is All About The Beer!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arbor Brewing Company is a local brewery, based in Ann Arbor. A large restaurant with a brewery area in the back and a separate game room featuring shuffleboard and darts, the brewery is a nice place to eat, drink or just plain hangout.

Owned by a husband and wife team from my hometown, Ypsilanti, I wanted to check out the Arbor brewing company as I had been to the couple's other brewery in Ypsilanti, Corner Brewery, this summer.

Corner was a fun place to visit in the summertime because there's a patio and a bunch of board games so you can sit outside and drink and relax. It's a traditional beer garden.

Arbor is a little more upscale. It has a full menu (complete with vegan options), appetizers and a more established game room area.

A true brewery, they don't always have everything that's on the menu because they only make so much and they you have to choose something else or come back another time if they're out.

They also have a beer club. For $500 you can be a lifetime member of the Mug Club. You receive invitations to tastings, a mug hung over the bar and a barstool with your name on it at the bar. You can also opt for a scaled-back membership for $100, which gives you a year long membership.

We chose to have appetizers and beer.

We liked the beer.

I thought the appetizers could have been better. They weren't tasty and they were very greasy. I wouldn't eat there again--but it's a beer restaurant. You're not going there for the food. However, if I wanted a solid selection of beers, I'd return.

I'm reviewing everything I eat, and everywhere I go. For more of my adventures, please visit: amovingstory.com

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrangeMarigolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbor Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Arbor Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing