We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Pacific Rim By Kana
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacific Rim By Kana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The service was fantastic and the fish was cooked to perfection. The portion was more generous than comparable restaurants and the atmosphere is low key and relaxing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stark321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    69
    26
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everytime we come, we come here”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I write about Big Ten sports, so I find myself (quite happily) in Ann Arbor more often than the average American traveler.

If it's a weekend game (allowing some libations and free time), I always try to get a table at Pacific Rim. I've had three different servers over the years, and they were all attentive, real, personable, interesting, knowledgeable, agreeable.

Between the small plates and entrees, cocktail menu and wine list, afters and starters; you can spend a ton of money, or enjoy a fairly affordable treat.

The beautiful people are here, but it's not at all a snobbish place. It's toney, not pretentious.

There are three sitting areas, and you'll want to be in the main room or the bar (and not the third room, which is not awful, just less interesting).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob-mccolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Big Eye Tuna is fantastic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I just visited and had the Big Eye Tuna, it was awesome. This was some of the best Tuna I have eaten and presented very attractively. The soup was very very good as well - a special squash. The Calimari and spring roll appetisers were average. Wine selection was decent and the dining room was very nice - it was hopping on a Tuesday night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
480 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good Fusion Asian Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently went to Pacific Rim with two other couples for dinner. The interior decor is very clean and simple. There is a small bar that has a nice waterfall behind it. For appetizer, we had the Moonson Platter. This had a half of spring roll, very small tuna on chip, beef skewer, and crab cake. While it was good, I found the portion a little small. For the main course, my wife had the scallops while I ordered the pork loin. The pork was very nicely done. The crust was nice and the meat was juicy. I also had a couple pieces of scallop. Again, good size and very well done. Their most famous dessert is the warm chocolate cake. We didn't know it was suppose to take 20 min as stated on the menu. Though the waiter said it was more like 10-15 min. So if you want this dessert and are in the hurry, best you order towards the end of your main course. The place is great for any special occassion or business meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Petty but upsetting”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We went to Pacific Rim for the third or fourth time. Very good food, as always. However, a petty yet upsetting complaint, I was charged for iced tea on each occasion it was refilled, which is unheard of in my experience, plus, the waitress never once brought it up or mentioned the charge. Again, agree it is relatively unimportant in the scope of a good dinner, but.......

Helpful?
1 Thank Volares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Rim By Kana also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Rim By Kana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing