We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally! After 35 Years!”

Angelo's Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Finally! After 35 Years!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went to school here. I was here for summers. Several friends loved this place. I have no idea why I never went until today. I got there at about 9:00 and was seated immediately. There was no football in town this weekend so maybe that’s why there was no line. Vickie was my waitress and was wonderful. I enjoyed my breakfast and appreciated how fresh everything was. The potatoes were good but basic and a little overcooked. I left satisfied with my second piece of raisin bread with me for later. I will return before another 35 years passes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    58
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is one of the best breakfast places in Ann Arbor. We had to wait a little on a Sunday morning but it was well worth the wait since there were many choices in the menu and they were mostly very good. I highly recommend a weekend morning breakfast there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sgist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old-Fashioned Diner with Great Food & Great Prices”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our first time eating at Angelo's. I believe they're open for breakfast and lunch. We at here for breakfast. The place has "good energy," friendly service, fast service, good quality food, and low prices. The plates are huge and they are filled! The potatoes are 100% real. The bacon is delicious. The eggs are made-to-order. They also make their own bread and slice it thick. We enjoyed eating here, and will go back the next time we're in town. Nobody leaves Angelo's hungry! It was a very satisfying meal. The only slight problem is the parking. They have parking for 10 cars behind the diner, and parking for 8 cars across the street. It's worth dealing with. We got lucky and got the last parking space! I highly recommend this diner. They welcome you at the door and you feel happy the entire time you're there. ENJOY!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon8here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I need to come here more often”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Despite being a longtime Ann Arbor resident, this was only my second visit to Angelo’s, the first being about 20 years ago. I’m not sure why I don’t come more often, although its location near the Medical Center probably has something to do with it, as it’s not a part of town I get to regularly. Today I had lunch at Angelo’s with a colleague. She ordered the Hot Roast Turkey sandwich, and I got the Angelo Reuben (a turkey Reuben) with a side of fries. While the fries weren’t memorable and I probably wouldn’t order them again, the sandwich was very good. The turkey was piled high on their homemade bread, and there was just enough cheese, Thousand Island dressing and cole slaw to give the sandwich flavor without making it too messy to eat. The food is good quality, and the prices are reasonable for the generous portions. We both took home leftovers. As much as I enjoyed my sandwich, I could only eat half, but I wasn't going to let the other half go to waste. The atmosphere at Angelo's is nicer than I remembered, too. Even though it was a gloomy day, the restaurant seemed bright, inviting, and busy and I liked the paintings on the walls. Angelo’s is an Ann Arbor landmark, and it’s definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UrbanRecycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Large portions of good food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really enjoyed the breakfast sandwich here. Unfortunately, it was so large I couldn't finish it! This is a great little spot and there is little else within walking distance of the medical campus to compete. Good food, quick service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete4vol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Angelo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing