We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Middle Eastern food served in a small, casual setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jerusalem Garden

Jerusalem Garden
Ranked #14 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
608 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Good Middle Eastern food served in a small, casual setting”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visitors to Ann Arbor who love Middle Eastern food will be happy to know that Jerusalem Garden is in town. I can not say its the best Middle Eastern restaurant, but they certainly serve delicious and comforting food. For a visitor, JG appears to be a good place to mix in with the locals and college students. However, the layout of the restaurant may not appeal to everyone. The few tables are set very close together so you're in close proximity to your fellow diners. Depending on one's mood and/or how crowded it is, this could be an issue. Waitstaff are attentive. The cost of the meals are very reasonable and is a good value. There is a small counter with a few stools where one can eat a meal while watching other meals being prepared. Those who enjoy this cuisine and are comfortable in a small, casual restaurant should find this restaurant a joy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    61
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A favorite place for decades”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been going there, mostly for lunch and occasionally for dinner, for almost 30 years. Wonderfully prepared middle eastern fare (falafel, hummus, tabouli, etc.) with friendly service. Sitting areas are tight, but that is part of the charm.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank delidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habor Springs, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could not be better!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place really lived up to its rep. The food was fabulous amd the staff was great. We sat at the bar and watched the miracle of.falafel creatiom and then we got to eat them! You will never have better. Go here. You will thank yourself later.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tamrie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good and so inexpensive!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a favorite restaurant of many locals who want great food but at a reasonable price. Ann Arbor has literally over a hundred choices of good restaurants and Jerusalem garden, even though it is very bargain priced, is one of the best. You will receive fresh food, in large quantity, and flavors to tantalize your taste buds. It is healthy as well. Their falafel is probably the best anywhere, at any price. Salads are a delightful explosion of flavor and zest, and their hummus is second to none. I don't know who makes their baklava but it is always moist and delicious.

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough, eating in is our favorite but to go i great too. When eating in, we prefer the 4 bar seats in the front so you can watch the workers make the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great take out & seating inside too.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

These are great falafels. And the hummus is the best anywhere. Mostly I order take out - eat in sometimes or on the patio. Good veggie & gluten-free options. Earthen Jar next door is also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GBAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Garden also viewed

 

Been to Jerusalem Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing