We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Italian food in reasonable price”

Argiero's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Argiero's is the only Italian restaurant in Ann Arbor run by an Italian family. The restaurant has been an Ann Arbor favorite for many years, where loyal customers enjoy wonderful dishes, a relaxed atmosphere, and the charming outdoor patio. Our food is always made on the premises, our sauce is prepared fresh daily, and our pizza is the best in town! Customers love our funghi alla crostini, calamari fritti, veal marsala, pasta primavera, manicotti, and gnocchi. If you are looking for home-style Italian food, Argiero's is a can't miss. Come see us today, kick back, relax, and enjoy some of the finest Italian cuisine in Ann Arbor. We promise you won't be disappointed!
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
221 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food in reasonable price”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Very good Italian food in reasonable price. Excellent vegetarian choice. The minestrone soup and the spinach lasagna were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The pasta dishes were average and the prices a bit high compared to other Italian restaurants in the area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stands out from pack of Ann Arbor Italian restaurants”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had a fine dinner service on a Friday evening. 3 + baby, seating ahead of reservation time without issue. Prompt and knowledgeable service. I'd describe the menu as 'classic Italian'. The server had excellent knowledge of source, freshness, and customization of their items. We tired the Funghi alla Crostini appetizer that was a very nice surprise; bursting with flavor and succulent mushrooms. My wife and guest enjoyed their Sangria and I appreciated the Gorgonzola stuffed olives in a fine semi-sweet classic Martini. The main dishes were great. The veal marsala was indeed veal (unlike some restaurants that substitute for veal but charge high prices) and covered with a flavorful marsala. Nice steamed vegetable side. My wife's chicken parmesan was tender with a fine light bedding that was obviously fresh (not any sogginess like other places). Guest's eggplant parmesan also fine. Portions large enough to split or take home for another meal. Dessert really stood. out. They make their own cannoli shells and filling; get this! My wife's tiramisu was similarly fine. Total bill was just over $100 for 4 drinks, and app, 3 entress, and 3 desserts, and a child's meal. Great value!

We would go back and would recommend to friends. Personally, I rate this slightly behind Paesano's (a bit more gourment Italian), a bit ahead of Gratzi, and far ahead of Palio if you want a ranking of the Ann Arbor Italian food options. Do yourself a favor and check this one out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BougieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ann Arbor's own Family Italian”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Warm, friendly, comfortable and comforting. Located in an old stand alone former gas station across from the Kerrytown Farmers Market.
Begun with Mama Rosa's recipes and now her grandchildren serve there from time to time. Brothers Sam and Carmen alternate managing nights and lunches, welcoming and sitting with regulars. Nice wine options by glass and by bottle (law now lets you take home an unfinished
corked bottle.) We always start with splitting their great Insalata Supremo with or without meat, enjoy the wine and some fresh cut bread
with oil or butter and then order one or two entrees.from an extensive and varied menu. Their pizza--tho variable--can be fabulous; you choose the toppings. This is not a burger or steak place; it's pasta or pasta with.... If room, top it off with gelato or spumoni or homemade tiramisu. We've had several parties there--8 - 18 people, with and without kids, and been more than happy with the options and service. Pleasant city corner outdoor seating. Occasionally Frank Sinatra or Andrea Bocelli makes an audio appearance to mark the evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judithgmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Below average food”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Ten of us went for lunch and ordered a variety of items. Those who ate sandwich/panini thought they were above average. Those who ate pasta dishes thought they were pathetic and over-priced. A pesto dish looked bright green but did not even have a hint of basil in it, and was soaked in olive oil. For an average of $10 per lunch item, there are lots of excellent choices in downtown Ann Arbor. Overall, "bland" was the bottom-line verdict.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RajNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argiero's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Argiero's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing