We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably delicious!”

The Old Siam By Siam Kitchen
Ranked #289 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reliably delicious!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently I realized I have been dining here on a weekly basis for over fifteen years. Siam Kitchen, or Old Siam as a lot of people call it, is a reliable and much beloved restaurant.

I usually get the tofu and broccoli in a chile and garlic sauce. It is outstanding. The deep fried tofu develops a wonderful texture and the sauce just sings with a bright and complex flavor. I generally don't order tofu elsewhere, but this is a really terrific dish. My son loves the Mongolian beef, and it too has terrific flavor, and is brightened up by a tiny bit of scallions. We both enjoy the pad thai and it tastes like the kind of food a family member would make for someone who is very loved.

I have gone to this restaurant with colleagues, friends, family members and by myself. I often do takeout and frequently run into friends or acquaintances. I've gone to plenty of Thai restaurants in town and elsewhere, but find this is by far my favorite. It has a very loyal following and once you've been there, you should understand why.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a2lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albion, MI
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst Thai I've ever eaten”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've been to many many Thai places and when I travel I make it a point to look on trip advisor to see what the top rated Thai restuarants are and see what's written. I have yet to be disappointed....until now. I ordered the Chicken Pad Thai and it LOOKED like typical chicken Pad Thai but 1 bite into it I realized something was missing. Literally. It's as if they completely forgot to mix in the seasoning. It had the chicken, the egg, the alfalfa sprouts but absolutely NO FLAVOR. I think they forgot to add the seasoning. I could taste the egg & the chicken but it had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. Extremely disappointed with my dinner

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zinescene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Come for the best Thai food in Ann Arbor”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food here is spectacular. We won't eat Thai food anywhere else in Ann Arbor. We have been going at least once a month for years. Favorites include the Siam rolls (like spring rolls) which you can get vegie style or with shrimp. I like the shrimp version even better. We always order #56 -- the shrimp with chili paste and #57 -- chicken with roasted cashews (you could substitute tofu). What sets this restaurant apart from others in Ann Arbor are details like actually roasting the cashews. I don't know how they do the sauce for the shrimp with chili paste, but it's extraordinary. Another winner is #62: shrimp in a sweet chili sauce with finely shredded bamboo shoots. The regular Pad Thai is also not to be missed. Don't bother to spend the extra $5 for the super Pad Thai. Other winners include Hum Beef (a salad of marinated flank steak), sizzling beef (although the beef is a bit tough) I enjoy the curries -- I don't find them better than other places, but certainly as good. Service can be spotty. Sometimes the waiters are rude. One night there was a misunderstanding about our order, and I had to insist on speaking to the manager before they grudgingly agreed to bring us the dish that I thought we had ordered. Since then, we make a habit of confirming every dish as we order. So don't go for the atmosphere or to chat up the wait staff. Just go because the food is fabulous. By the way, this restaurant is now called The Old Siam by Siam Kitchen. Always double-check to make sure that they are open. Hours are more limited during the summer. Also, because this is a family-run business, they close down when they take vacation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalindanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Love the Mongolian Beef here as well as the Pad Thai. The food is consistent and served hot. You know it is a good Asian choice when a student from Thailand takes you there as a treat!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hjensen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai restaurant in Ann Arbor”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place has the best food, though the service is a bit slow. I usually order Tofu Ho Ra Par (with stir-fried eggplant, basil leaves, and cherry tomatoes) - it's amazing, and nobody else in the area seems to have it! Other dishes are very good too.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam By Siam Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Old Siam By Siam Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing