We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of AA”
Review of The Chop House

The Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Liberty and William
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of AA”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Chop House in Ann Arbor is a reliable favorite for everyone. You will get what you pay for with every dish, and the large price tags are worth it. Although every dish I have had there has been exceptional, I highly recommend you listen carefully to their special meat offerings and select one from them, they are well worth it. Like many other Main Street restaurants, you can get a big discount on your birthday. This is a beautiful and elegant dining experience, and great for a romantic date or a celebration. The service is always excellent and portions are generous. Well worth it for a special occasion!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    52
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine Dining experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Exceptional service, quiet atmosphere, great place for a business meeting or special dinner. Food was excellent--no complaints. I ordered Filet--cooked to perfection.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJRA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and deliciousness”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant. Never disappoints always top notch service and always a quality meal. Great for special occasions or business meals. We eat here regularly

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank firstladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best filet I've ever had!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bone in Filet mignon was spectacular and my wife loved the lamb chops. Very expensive, but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Alkaline6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adequate but overpriced”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

While the Chop House offers a varied menu including items like Lamp Chops which are not found at most restaurants, the overall experience is not worth the high cost. The electronic tablet menus are nice but heavy and take up a great deal of room. I was surprised to find the restaurant was out of a particular cut of steak. One would expect a steak house to have all the steaks on the menu. A guest in my party ordered a specific wine which was also out of stock. One steak had to be sent back as it was not cooked as requested and in fact, my dish was also not cooked to my liking but was acceptable and therefore I did not return it. The wait staff were outstanding. I won't be recommending the Chop House to friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chop House also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to The Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing