We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cured meat and cheeses pardise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zingerman's Delicatessen

Zingerman's Delicatessen
Ranked #3 of 588 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in March of 1982 by Paul Saginaw and Ari Weinzweig in an historic building near the Ann Arbor Farmers' Market. Serving up thousands of made-to-order sandwiches with ingredients like premium Black Angus corned beef and pastrami, free-range chicken and turkey, housemade chopped liver and chicken salad. The Deli also stocks an exceptional array of farmhouse cheeses, estate-bottled olive oils, varietal vinegars, smoked fish, salami, coffee, tea and much, much more. Today, Zingerman's Delicatessen is an Ann Arbor institution, the source of great food and great experiences for thousands of visitors every year.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“Cured meat and cheeses pardise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a must go to destination for anyone who loves meat and cheese. Next time, we are planning on getting a pound of salami, a half pound of Detroit Street Brick cheese and a couple of baguettes and taking a bottle of wine to the arb. Go at all costs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    393
    143
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Deli Ann Arbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just can't beat it. Best deli food along with fab bakery. It's a must have where I am in Ann Arbor- or Michigan for that matter! Sandwiches piled high- always enough for 2 meals. Soups great too. Comfort foods of all types that satisfy.
Mail order, cater, take out- you name it they will accommodate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shmtw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
313 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Call head for your order......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Z's Delicatessen is a great place to take out of towners - however, as a local I find it expensive and the food just above average. There are other delis that can do it better and for less. On a recent game day we ordered 4 sandwiches and 1 side of potato-type salad (~$73). The line was out the door when we arrived to pick up the order and tables were full outside. Thankfully, we had called our order in. The sandwiches seemed a bit smaller as normally no one can finish them and my family decided to try somewhere different next time they were in town. I hope they stick to their guns as I would love to treat them to something else.
That all being said - if in doubt, take your guests to Zingerman's, call ahead and take your wallet!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spencersbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches, worth waiting in line for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent quality food, piled high, and reasonably priced. Real deli environment. Wait in line to place order, limited seating space though.

Helpful?
Thank Hairyputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

An Ann arbor staple. The food is pretty decent, I had the Reuben, which was definitely good but not the bet I've ever had. My favorite was the potato latkes, apple sauce, and rice pudding. It is quite pricey though, lunch for 4 people with sides was about 100 bucks. Oh, they let you sample EVERYTHING!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aRedLetterLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zingerman's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Zingerman's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing