We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theeeee Best calamari Ever Period 5 *”
Review of Gratzi

Gratzi
Reserve with OpenTable
Gratzi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 594 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Gratzi, an elegant Italian restaurant with distinct style, was founded in downtown Ann Arbor, Mich. in December 1987. Formerly the Orpheum Theater, which screened the most popular movies of the day in the 1930s, Gratzi maintains the flair of the dramatic history still preserved today in the restaurant's elegant décor and ambience. Seated above Gratzi's bar is a grand sculpture of Orpheus himself, the great poet and musician, overlooking dining room guests, while a beautifully painted Renaissance-style mural depicting an ancient bacchanal reinforces the indulgent and purely pleasurable atmosphere. Indulge in the purely pleasurable atmosphere and savor unique flavors of regional Italian cuisine and wine.
Stevensville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Theeeee Best calamari Ever Period 5 *”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I am very supprised on the negative remarks, we embrace
this restaurant when we attend M~Football in the fall
with seating over 111,000 fans. You can expect
not the best service, at any establishment. But travel 3 hours and stay
overnight almost every home game, and simply great service.

Maybe the staff is young, but always doing the very best

This place is one of the best Italian restaurants around.
food is piping hot, fresh and Best calamari yes.
Thye must soak them overnight in buttermilk.

Pasta so homemade/scratch wish we had one around are hometown.
Cant say enought been there over 15 times, will not go anywere else.
Outdoor seating ava, pending weather worth the wait. "Great Wine"

Simply put : Theeeee Best :-)

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kj166700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    130
    71
    29
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not enjoyable.”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We came early in the evening and did not get a choice table. Parked us near stairs and wait station. The water guy asked us if we wanted a variety of different waters (but failed to mention that we would be charged extra). I had been duped by that one before and told him I wanted plain water. Had to ask for bread and given a small plate of olive oil for 3 people. We had to ask for more olive oil and extra bread. The extra bread was cold. We asked the lady who brought our food out for more olive oil and she said sure, but then proceeded to her computer and completely ignored our request. Our entrees were good but overpriced. Cesar salad was not remarkable even at $6.99. We barely finished our salad when our entrees arrived. The glass of Malbec I ordered was not particularly good. I had a very good meal at Brio recently with a tasty glass of Malbec and wonderful lamb chops. Gratzi was overpriced, not good service, rushed and lacking in the taste department. The giant mural is also odd. Won't eat here again. Too many other choices in Ann Arbor.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, but rushed, uneven staff; they won't let you linger.”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Living in Michigan, I've been going to Gratzi's for years. I go for the food which is mostly superlative. Over time, however, the service has declined. Want a leisurely meal out at lunch or dinner? Forget it. Even when not crowded, the entrees arrive on top of the appetizers or salads. (You can get around this by refusing to order your entree until you are nearly done with the appetizers.) Clearly Gratzi's has decided that the way to make money is to charge high prices and push you out the door to make room for the next customer, which would be reasonable if this were a fast-food restaurant, but when entrees start at more than $20, this is insulting. Desserts are also limited. Gratzi's used to push you to their next-door "sister" location (La Dolce Vita) for a more interesting selection, but they probably got a lot of negative feedback since La Dolce Vita is right next to a cigar bar, and the air filtering system can't handle the smoke. So head to Gratzi's for great food, but not for a relaxing night on the town.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalindanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Past it's prime-bland and overpriced”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

There was a time when this place was not bad. For many it is the nicest place to dine on Main St., but the food now ranges from bland to perfectly horrible. Overcooked pasta, bland specials, roughly chopped up salads, wilted greens are among the things we experienced. The last time I went it was so bad I stopped eating-smoked salmon had obviously been sitting out without refrigeration for a while and the aruhula on top was completely wilted. Needs a total overhaul in the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smakosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere. Food is Bad, previously frozen. Yuck”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This restaurant has a great location, great atmosphere, and in an overall great feel about it; until you start to eat the food. For how good this places looks, its magnitude of terrible taste is just about equal. The chicken came out frozen in the middle, and the pasta was cooked wayyy to much giving it that dorm food kind of feel. The food came out in less than 10 minutes which was also very concerning. I did enjoy the atmosphere and it really gives you an upscale without too lavish Italian dining experience. Overall, if you really like Italian food, this place is a really poor choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thesamstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gratzi also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Gratzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing