We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best happy hour in Ann Arbor!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Earle Restaurant

The Earle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Earle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 588 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ashley
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best happy hour in Ann Arbor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've not actually ever had a full meal here - only popped in for $2.75 mussels (bargain!) The wine list is great, and the bar is always packed. Stop by for happy hour and stick around for dinner...or not. Great local spot - but is quite dark downstairs so expect to feel like a mole when you do eventually come above ground in the summer...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank londonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    34
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to celebrate with family or friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went last night with a reservation, expecting a lot from such a highly rated spot.
We were not disappointed! The atmosphere was warm and charming, a trio played in the background adding to the ambience.
The of food was phenomenal! We shared the Panzenella, which was fresh and delicious.
The veal scallops were superb as was the duck. the Tuna was superb!
I highly recommend this as a wonderful dining experience. Do not expand to get this great food fast.
Relax and enjoy the meal, we did!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 33rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely place to eat, talk and relax. High quality food. Great wine. Fabulous service. The ambiance makes you feel that you are in the catacombs of Ann Arbor, in a classic sense. So many of the new, more modern restaurants are designed in such a way that the acoustics create a ton of noise and require you to shout in order to be heard by the person sitting next to you. The Earle's sophistication provides a lovely dinner for more sophisticated diners.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“recommend the roast duck breast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

a little dear but fairly fine after using a coupon (they send off coupons regularly in a coupon book to neighbourhoods in ann arbor)... the roast duck breast was remarkable

Helpful?
1 Thank yli147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food. A hidden French treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Earle is a very good French and Italian restaurant and bar that I suspect is not as well known as others in Ann Arbor simply because it is kind of hidden, down a flight of stairs. In reality it's right there on Washington Street, adjacent to Logan's and just in front of Cafe Zola (two other good choices).

Romantic atmosphere, elegant yet sober decoration, with dimmed lights and live jazz music (low enough that allows you to talk without rising the tone of your voice). The service was good, even though we went on a Saturday night and it was kind of busy.

I had the sauteed eggplant slices filled with mozzarella and a tomato basil sauce: awesome. A friend had penne pasta with eggplant, olives, etc. Both were excellent.

The dessert choices were all attractive. We settled for the Tiramisu that was AMAZING, both in flavor and texture - you've got to try it! The Capuccino was very decent as well.

You could argue that the prices are a bit high, but I have to admit the quality and the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morella U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Earle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Earle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing