We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cozy restaurant!”

The Earle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Earle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 594 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ashley
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a cozy restaurant!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From now on, one of my favorite restaurants! Good food, ambiance and service! Greatly recommend it, especially for a couple’s night out! Good food and wine selection. If in the area, do not miss it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    69
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dependably excellent fine dining. Beef is particularly good. We have been here a number of times for special evenings and have always been delighted.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I went there on a Friday night around 8:00 p.m. We did not get our dinner until 9:15. We started with an antispastan appetizer which was decent. Had 2 excellent glasses of Amarone, which went well with the app. I had veal scallopini, and it might be the best I have ever had. My wife had a beef tenderloin in a rouquefort cream sauce which was simply out of this world. Both were pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlccorkmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but a bit pricey”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The problem with restaurants in a college town that take reservations is that they tend to be pricey for the quality of food. This was one of those places. The atmosphere was great; down in a cellar with jazz music playing and very cozy. The service was good. The food was decent, but we really limited ourselves to salads and pastas (although the roasted garlic appetizer was very good). The entrees were in the mid 20 dollar or more range.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love most Ann Arbor restaurants - this one was just okay. The service was not good and the menu is very ordinary. The jazz trio was a nice touch but the food was underwhelming. I had the pesto pasta with shrimp - boring. My husband had the whitefish - too much sauce. The whitefish pate came with 4 pieces of crostini (needed double that amount) - very overpriced. The wine list is huge and our waitress wasn't knowledgeable and could only tell us what wines were ordered the most by other patrons. Considering all the fine dining restaurants in this town I will not be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Earle Restaurant also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to The Earle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing