We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So New, There's a New Construction Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
372 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“So New, There's a New Construction Smell”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. After all, the place is brand new, so what could go wrong? The staff members--Allen, Ashley, and several others--were very nice and helpful.

One little oddity: the cable television in the fitness room is different, and has different station offerings, from the cable TV in the guest rooms, so if you're hoping to finish watching something after you're done working out, you might not be able to do so. Further, the cable TV in the fitness rooms has the least intuitive setup I've ever seen: while each piece of equipment has its own screen and its own remote, the user has to know to aim the remote at a squarish cable box that is all but hidden on a lower part of the equipment. (And there are no instructions.) I chalk this up to the newness of the place, and it's a fairly minor quibble. All in all, it was a very comfortable stay, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Grmpmbl,

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel during your recent stay. I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the team, but in particular Allen and Ashley. Also, thank you for bringing to our attention the difficulty you had using the fitness room TV's - we will definitely look into providing better instructions. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Have a wonderful day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    182
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
331
121
30
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Our stay started off on a high note due to the great service provided at the front desk by Allen - he's very friendly and complementary, and greeted us again at the coffee station when we came back from dinner. The rooms are nicely decorated and both the bed and the chairs are comfortable - but the pillows are less so. HGI should emulate the practices of Holiday Inn by offering both soft and firm foam pillows. The pool, while colder than we'd like, was very nice, with a young kid-friendly design. The spa was roomy and comfortably warm. The exercise room was spacious and well-equipped. One problem was with breakfast, as the staff was slammed and many guests were evidently first time visitors to a HGI and so didn't know how breakfast works - some signage explaining things might help. We had a long wait for our cooked breakfast and the potatoes weren't done when our meals arrived; the waitress told us that a side plate would be brought to us as soon as the potatoes were ready... But that didn't happen. We waited for someone to stop by with our check (I think some families left without paying as it was rather chaotic and the signage indicating that you had to pay for breakfast was too subtle for many to notice) and I told he that we never received our potatoes. On her own initiative, she comped our breakfast as we didn't get what we ordered and we had a long wait. Unfortunately I didn't get her name, so I can't praise her appropriately, but she handled the situation very well. As someone who travels a lot, I know that things don't always go well or according to plan; the mark of a hotel is often made by how someone handles the unexpected - and the HGI Ann Arbor passed with flying colors!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TheTravelingProf,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review! I appreciate all of your feedback and am happy to hear that the Hilton Garden Inn passed with flying colors! In particular, I will share your feedback with Allen and let him know how much you enjoyed his hospitality. The morning that you joined us for breakfast was particularly busy and we appreciate your understanding. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Ann Arbor area.

Many Thanks,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for a night while visiting Ann Arbor and Chelsea - conveniently located to both areas. Room with king bed was modern and clean. Bed was comfortable, large tv (except some tv stations not working that day), refrigerator and microwave. Reasonable price included breakfast. Breakfast buffet was unorganized and slow, this may have been an unusual occurrence but not sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveOurVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi WeLoveOurVacations,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor. It is dissapointing to hear that breakfast service was not as good as it could have been - I will share this feedback with our team and we will improve upon it. I hope that you are able to stay with us once again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although the hotel was full with a large number of families in town for a hockey tournment the facility was clean, reasonably quiet and the staff was very pleasant. The pool area had clean towels and reasonable level of noise. The food and beverage was exceptional in terms of selection and quality. I will be recommending this hotel for all of our out of town guests, personal and business.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello HockeyGary,

Thanks so much for coming to experience our hotel! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel had to offer like the pool and our Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant and that the staff treated you well. I hope the next time you are in town you are able to stay with us once again.

Have a wonderful day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you want true hospitality this hotel is where it's at! We found this brand new Hilton hotel in Ann Arbor and thank goodness we did! Ann Arbor was in need of a new hotel such as this. My family and I stayed there during a kids hockey weekend. From the moment we checked in with Beverly who welcomed us with the most welcoming smile, to the extreme hospitality of Allen (went above the rest to help us find dinner accomodations) We will always return to this property! Even with all the kids running around the rooms stayed quiet. The rooms were clean and spacious. The restaurant on site and staff were amazing! A+ in our book! Cant't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccer_mom_MegD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Soccer_mom_MegD,

Thanks for sharing your feedback and all of the great comments with us! We are so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel. I will definitely share your comments with Allen and Beverlee as well as the rest of the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I drove 40min to stay at this at hotel after it was referred to me by a friend. The people who work at the hotel are fantastic. Beverlee, who has a great smile, did a great job making me and my colleagues feel welcomed. It is the reason why we stay there regularly during business trips. Also, a great bar and food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Charles2020,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We will definitely share all of the great comments that you had with the team. We looking forward to welcoming you back into the hotel the next time you are in the area.

Enjoy your day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My experience at the Hilton Gredn Inn was excellent. The staff was very friendly and eager to do their best to make my stay with them the best it could be, particulalry one staffer at the front desk named Allen. The hotel is also very near the University of Michigan campus.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rolszew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello rolszew2,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn! I have shared your comments with Allen as well as the rest of the team here. Please let us know if you are coming back any time soon as we would love to see you!

Best Wishes,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Address: 1401 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor hotel is ideally located just 2 miles south of the University of Michigan and its "Big House" football stadium, as well as the adjacent Briarwood Mall. Enjoy easy access to the UM campus plus nearby research parks, hospitals and medical centers. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology to ensure you make the most of your stay. Keep in touch with complimentary wireless internet access and sleep well in the sumptuous bed. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel's onsite restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick snack or tasty microwavable meal from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. The cozy Bar offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with an energetic workout in the 24-hour fitness center or enjoy a splash in the "Cool Pool" complete with basketball hoop and interactive toys. The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor also offers four flexible meeting rooms, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing