We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
east lansing, michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and tranquil”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this new Garden Inn the evening prior to a medical procedure at the University of Michigan Hospital.

We found the help to be thoroughly hospitable. The lobby and eating areas are appealing, peaceful, and immaculate. The rooms had every necessary convenience.

We were very glad we made this choice, and if we need to come back for an overnight stay in Ann Arbor we will certainly return to this Hilton Garden Inn.

Normally, by the way, we prefer Embassy Suites. But this turned out to be the best Garden Inn we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi rwu,

Thank you for taking the time to mention us on here! We sincerely enjoyed having you at the hotel and hope that everyone is recovering nicely after your visit to the hospital. If the need ever arises again, we would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel.

Our Best Wishes,

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    192
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
360
124
30
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

In a great location, the hotel is really nice and the staff was wonderful. Great choice for Ann Arbor. This town was in need of another good hotel and they finally got it. Even nicer than your typical HGI.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouvierlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Bouvierlover,

We are so pleased that you were able to join us for your recent stay in Ann Arbor and that you had a nice stay. We are looking forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

Take Care,

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were enroute to Jackson MI and traveling through Toledo Ohio. We Googled Hotels and found the Hilton Garden Inn in Ann Arbor MI. We called and spoke to Kristen. She described the property, gave us the best rates, and gave us directions which took us right to the front door. I don't think we would have found it by just driving down the highway. Although they did not furnish a free breakfast, they had coffee, tea, and cookies ready upon arrival and hot drinks in the morning. We did not use any of the amenities but appreciated the fact that had exercise facilities, and eat-in diner, and a business center. And, we felt completely safe. We asked for adjoining rooms and got it. They certainly get our vote.

Room Tip: We didn't see the Hilton advertised on the highway or in any of the magazines you pick up along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Barry S.

It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. Our entire team enjoyed seeing you. I have let Kirsten know of the kind things you had to say about her. We hope that the next time you are driving through the area that you stop to say hello.

Have a wonderful day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would like to give a raving 5 star+ review to this brand new hotel in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I recently held an all day seminar for local Michigan doctors and the help/service I got from the staff was awesome. The seminar room set up was perfect, neat, and very organized. The attendee on staff helping me, Shane, was the friendliest, most efficient aid ever. The food was even wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel above all others in the area. I travel for my job every week and have stayed at almost every hotel in Michigan and can honestly say that this hotel is a far better experience then the others. So trendy, nice, quiet, and comfortable.

Room Tip: I stayed in a King size room which was so nice and comfortable. I don't think you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Silvia D,

Thank you so much for choosing our location for your meeting - we had a wonderful time hosting your event here. I have passed on your kind words to Shane and the rest of the team. We look forward to assisting you again in the future as it is always such a pleasure to have great clients like you!

Take Care,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is clean, conveniently-located, and quiet. There are a number of TV channels beyond the standard sports & Fox that tend to be available in chain hotels. Most hotels in Ann Arbor look as if the football team has been staying there -- not so with the Hilton Garden Inn. I would especially recommend this hotel for people who are in town for business or for university-related matters. This will be my go-to hotel for Ann Arbor visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello chatto,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our new property in Ann Arbor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the extra amenities, such as the TV stations. We plan to keep the hotel new and fresh looking for many years to come and look forward to having you here as one of our regular guests!

Sincerely,

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has everything going for it - a friendly staff, clean rooms, nice amenities, comfortable lodgings, and a great location. It is only a few months old, so everything is shiny and new. It's located right next to the mall and within minutes of all kinds of restaurants and shopping. It was very convenient and easy to navigate near the hotel. We slept well, had no complaints whatsoever, and would recommend this hotel to any of our friends who are traveling to Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear mojomuze,

You Rock!...Thanks so much for all of the great comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy that you had a nice time here and in the Ann Arbor area. We can't wait to see you and your friends in the future.

Enjoy your day,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here while visiting both sides of our family over Christmas for almost a week. The hotel was about 2 months old at the time. Overall, I think that the hotel was very well conceived. My children enjoyed the pool very much. However my son fell while walking due to the slippery floor tiles. While they (the tiles) were aesthetically pleasing, once they were wet you had to watch your step. I feel if some floor mats were placed around the pool it would make it much safer. I like that there was always coffee near the front door, and my kids liked the fresh cookies in the evening!! The breakfast was very good, but it was a little confusing. I have stayed at many Garden Inns in the past, and at those you would go up to the cook and place your order. The cook would then give you a number, and when your food was ready the wait staff would bring it to you as we'll as collect your breakfast coupon (if you have one). During your wait you could help yourself to the other food that was out and available. Here it was very confusing, it was more like a regular restaurant. You were expected to sit and give your order to the wait staff, then you get the other "cold" items. Then they would still bring you the bill even though they had already collected your breakfast coupon. By the way the scones are excellent!! All of the staff was great, and the hotel was very clean. We would definitely and probably stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Michael S,

Happy Holidays! We are so pleased that you chose to spend your holidays with us this year and that you had a nice time while you were here. I have shared your feedback about the pool floor with the General Manager as well as a Leadership team to see what we can do to improve this for you. Thank you for alerting us of the issue. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Take Care,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Address: 1401 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor hotel is ideally located just 2 miles south of the University of Michigan and its "Big House" football stadium, as well as the adjacent Briarwood Mall. Enjoy easy access to the UM campus plus nearby research parks, hospitals and medical centers. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology to ensure you make the most of your stay. Keep in touch with complimentary wireless internet access and sleep well in the sumptuous bed. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel's onsite restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick snack or tasty microwavable meal from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. The cozy Bar offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with an energetic workout in the 24-hour fitness center or enjoy a splash in the "Cool Pool" complete with basketball hoop and interactive toys. The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor also offers four flexible meeting rooms, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing