We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is clean, conveniently-located, and quiet. There are a number of TV channels beyond the standard sports & Fox that tend to be available in chain hotels. Most hotels in Ann Arbor look as if the football team has been staying there -- not so with the Hilton Garden Inn. I would especially recommend this hotel for people who are in town for business or for university-related matters. This will be my go-to hotel for Ann Arbor visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello chatto,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our new property in Ann Arbor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the extra amenities, such as the TV stations. We plan to keep the hotel new and fresh looking for many years to come and look forward to having you here as one of our regular guests!

Sincerely,

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    179
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
326
118
29
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has everything going for it - a friendly staff, clean rooms, nice amenities, comfortable lodgings, and a great location. It is only a few months old, so everything is shiny and new. It's located right next to the mall and within minutes of all kinds of restaurants and shopping. It was very convenient and easy to navigate near the hotel. We slept well, had no complaints whatsoever, and would recommend this hotel to any of our friends who are traveling to Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear mojomuze,

You Rock!...Thanks so much for all of the great comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy that you had a nice time here and in the Ann Arbor area. We can't wait to see you and your friends in the future.

Enjoy your day,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here while visiting both sides of our family over Christmas for almost a week. The hotel was about 2 months old at the time. Overall, I think that the hotel was very well conceived. My children enjoyed the pool very much. However my son fell while walking due to the slippery floor tiles. While they (the tiles) were aesthetically pleasing, once they were wet you had to watch your step. I feel if some floor mats were placed around the pool it would make it much safer. I like that there was always coffee near the front door, and my kids liked the fresh cookies in the evening!! The breakfast was very good, but it was a little confusing. I have stayed at many Garden Inns in the past, and at those you would go up to the cook and place your order. The cook would then give you a number, and when your food was ready the wait staff would bring it to you as we'll as collect your breakfast coupon (if you have one). During your wait you could help yourself to the other food that was out and available. Here it was very confusing, it was more like a regular restaurant. You were expected to sit and give your order to the wait staff, then you get the other "cold" items. Then they would still bring you the bill even though they had already collected your breakfast coupon. By the way the scones are excellent!! All of the staff was great, and the hotel was very clean. We would definitely and probably stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Michael S,

Happy Holidays! We are so pleased that you chose to spend your holidays with us this year and that you had a nice time while you were here. I have shared your feedback about the pool floor with the General Manager as well as a Leadership team to see what we can do to improve this for you. Thank you for alerting us of the issue. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Take Care,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was very impressed with my stay here. Very clean and the hospitality was wonderful! Some of the nicest staff I have encountered. They go out of their way to make you feel very comfortable. They are on top of cleaning also. We went to breakfast and by the time we were back the room was cleaned and fresh. This was in the early am hours also which is a plus. Usually when you are staying an extended stay of a few days they usually come late in the afternoon which leaves you sitting in a room without clean towels etc. Not the case here! They are on it! This also is a new hotel so everything is new ( i.e light fixtures,furniture) overall the place was spotless and we will definitely stay here again. Staff was accommodating and overall pleasant as well as the servers at breakfast and the breakfast was also tasty as we had omelets. We decided to stay an extra night also as the pool is great and our 19 month old baby loves to play in the kiddie section of the pool. Overall, clean, friendly place. Being a new hotel even gave it more perks as the flat screen was crystal clear also. Great place! ;)

Room Tip: If you have children ask for poolside room. Our room was great only a couple feet away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Lorina E,

Thanks so much for all of the great comments! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us this month. I have let the entire team know of the great time that you had and we hope that you and your baby join us again sometime soon to play in the pool!

Best Wishes,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This property is brand new. Very nice lobby area, and a large breakfast area if you choose to eat at the hotel.
The room is very comfortable and spacious, and the famous Hilton beds are the best! The bathroom was very clean and new, and the fixtures were new as well. Wifi and ethernet were available in the room, but the wifi was as fast as the ethernet connection, and more reliable. The tv was a flat screen, and the room was equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. I would highly recommend this location for your stay in Ann Arbor. It is also located next to a shopping mall, and close to many eating establishments. Staff was very friendly and service minded.
The only reason I did not rate this location "excellent" was the breakfast buffet. The buffet provides the normal continental breakfast staples, and eggs cooked to order. You can also request omelettes and pancakes/french toast. I ordered the hot breakfast the first day, but the potatoes tasted old and stale. For the price you pay, you can find a comparable breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapataii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello zapataii,

Thank you so much for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. In regards to your remarks about the breakfast, I have provided your feedback to our Food and Beverage Director as well as the head cook as we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Ann Arbor area.

Have a great day,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently booked 20 rooms at this hotel for a hockey tournament. Marilyn the Sales Mgr was amazing booking our team rooms including a meeting room and team meals. The hotel is brand new and is in fantasic shape. It is directly across from a huge shopping mall and close to other shopping and dining. The rates were also hard to beleive for everything you got out of this hotel. There is a huge pool for kids and we enjoyed the restaurant, bar and catering onsite.
Staff were amzing including Kristin at check in, catering staff and mgm. We will definately be back next year. Great job guys. Thanks Milton Winterhawks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi CanuckRoadWarrior,

Thank you for all of the nice comments on your recent stay. I have passed on your comments to Kirsten and Marilyn for their great work. We look forward to seeing you and the Milton Winterhawks the next time you are in Ann Arbor!

Have a great New Year!

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I recently spent three nights at this hotel. The staff exceptional, as was the facility. As a new hotel, I expected some rough edges due to "getting the bugs out"; however, I was wrong. Everything was wonderful. The purpose of our trip was to celebrrate the 50th wedding anniversary of a brother and his wife, and eight of the nine living siblings were there, and the hotel provided some really nice public areas to gather around the two-sided fireplace and visit. There was fresh coffee in the lobby each morning, and freshly baked cookies in the evening. The breakfast area was spacious and the food was good. The bar was also welcoming and enjoyed by some of our party. There is a little "store" where guests can pick up frozen food to cook in the microwave in their room, as well as snacks - even U of M merchandise. These folks seem to have thought of everything! We'd go back in heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Kathleen0928,

Thank you so much for staying with us to celebrate your brother's 50th Wedding Anniversary! What a wonderful reason to get together and spend time with family. We appreciate all of the nice things that you had to say about our hotel and are so pleased you had a nice time. We hope to see you the next time you are in Michigan!

Take Care,

Christina Bell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.8 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Address: 1401 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor hotel is ideally located just 2 miles south of the University of Michigan and its "Big House" football stadium, as well as the adjacent Briarwood Mall. Enjoy easy access to the UM campus plus nearby research parks, hospitals and medical centers. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology to ensure you make the most of your stay. Keep in touch with complimentary wireless internet access and sleep well in the sumptuous bed. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel's onsite restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick snack or tasty microwavable meal from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. The cozy Bar offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with an energetic workout in the 24-hour fitness center or enjoy a splash in the "Cool Pool" complete with basketball hoop and interactive toys. The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor also offers four flexible meeting rooms, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing