We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and treated all guests with open arms and a pleasant attitude. We arrived a little early and the front desk staff had housekeeping expedite our rooms. What more can you say about customer service than that.....the hotel was recently built and was at or very near capacity. Even so, we had the breakfast area to ourselves for at least 25 minutes in the morning. The only "hot" portion of the breakfast was a waffle maker, which we skipped. We opted for some toast and muffins which were very good. The hotel is located near a mall, which is nice, but also near a highway. Though our rooms were on the mall side, when the AC unit was not on, there was some road noise. Overall, an excellent stay and we wish the owners and the staff the best of luck! We would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godfather24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to read that we could get you into your room upon an early arrival. Our team will do what it takes to make sure that our guests leave with exceeded expectations. We understand that there are many options in the area, thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are so glad that we could make your stay a memorable experience.
Hope to see you soon!
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    86
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
109
29
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I LOVE staying at Marriot Hotels because they are a non-smoking chain. This hotel was recommended by AAA and offers a discounted rate with AAA. I wanted two queen beds, however, they did not have any available when I booked (which was 9 months before our stay). I called and asked if the King with pullout bed would be large enough for a family of 4. I was told yes, comfortably. I was also told I could change my reservation at time of check-in.....NO, THAT IS NOT THE CASE. The King size bed is very nice and comfortable. However the pull out bed is a twin size bed for ONE. The pull out bed touches the King bed, so whoever is sleeping in the King bed is trapped on their side with no room to walk around. Therefore, each time my son had to use the rest room, he had to walk on the King bed, wake me up, to get to the bathroom!!! It is sooo small and not suited for a FAMILY OF 4. If you are traveling with 2, then this may be the place for you. We are very uncomfortable in this unit for 11 days. I have asked the front desk for help and have called customer service. Neither party was able to help us.......so we are stuck with this unit for 11 days. Any other hotel that would be accommodating is booked solid due to the AAU Junior Olympics. DON'T BE STUCK LIKE ME......THESE ROOMS ARE NOT FOR A FAMILY OF 4 OR MORE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry for the confusion on your room type. I hope that the room we moved you into accommodated your family better and that you slept more comfortably. We are glad that we were able to catch this before you left the hotel. Our teams goal is to make sure that all of our guests leave the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor happy.
Have a great day!
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clean - Friendly - Great Location and Price Abundant breakfast for all ages - other food available at any time. Great exercise room and pool Brittant Villa and her staff are a team and will do what ever is necessary for your comfort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our teams goal is to make sure that all of our guest leave the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor with exceeded expectations. We are so glad that we did so with your stay. We hope to see you the next time you are in Ann Arbor!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I visited Ann Arbor to attend a granddaughters high school graduation. With help from Trip Advisor reviews, we selected this Marriott property and were very satisfied. The price was right, the facility was very clean with excellent service and a very nice, comfortable room. Really a bargain for the price. The location is great, right next to the major shopping mall in the area and near many restaurants. The building is right next to the interstate so if you stay, ask for a room facing the mall property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0b33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! It was wonderful to read that you chose the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor after reading our reviews on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking notice to our location. Being a new hotel, one thing that we have noticed is how much of a convenience our location is to our guests. Also, thank you for taking notice to the great value of our hotel. With all of our rooms having fully equipped kitchens and being 30% larger than the average hotel room, our team takes pride in offering a great value to all of our guests. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you the next time you are in Ann Arbor visiting family!
Have a great day!
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived during the art fair. Quick friendly check-in. When we left for supper, Kathryn asked if everything was fine with our room. I mentioned that the room was not the room we reserved. With the art fair, they did not have the room that we reserved available. OK. Off to dinner. Upon our return, Kathryn was waiting for us. She let us know, she wanted us to be happy - so she more than made up the inconvenience to us in the way of compensation. How is that for great service? Rooms were clean and comfortable. Kitchenette is well stocked with plate, glasses pots, silverware, toaster and even wine glasses! Free wi-fi. Hotel is an easy drive to the U. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooneySkyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review! Our team takes pride in providing great customer service. Your review has been passed onto Kathryn who handled the situation perfectly! Her wonderful guest service has been recognized by the management team. We want our guests to leave the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor happy and with exceeded expectations. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights while our son was at orientation. Nice suite room (#220), King bed with small kitchen. Everything worked well. Simple breakfast offered. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy drive to U of M, but no shuttle offered.
We will try other places over the next few years, but I can see us staying here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking notice to our friendly team and our convenient location. The TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor would love to have you stay with us the next time your are in town. Our team would use it as an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Have a great day!
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great property, only nine-months old, very clean with top-shelf staff at the front desk. It's somewhat bare-bones with a limited continental breakfast (read: only protein were hard-boiled eggs) but if you're good with some frozen muffins, oatmeal from an envelope and a waffle iron along with an assortment of cereal, you'll be fine.

Since we were traveling with our pet, we loved the very nice dog walk area outside. The pool was terrific and our kids enjoyed the selection of pool toys like noodles and beach balls provided. Amazing how a $30 investment in pool toys from the Dollar Store really add to the enjoyment factor.

There's a large regional shopping mall across the roadway, though we didn't venture over, and a number of chain restaurants nearby. We opted to spend most of our time in downtown restaurants (Ann Arbor is beautiful, btw) and downtown and campus are only a short drive from this hotel. If you're looking for a lower-priced, reduced glamor, hotel, this is certainly a terrific option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButchKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We have found that our guests show much appreciation to the small and big details that the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor has to offer. Thank you for noticing those small details like the pool noodles and our dog path. We are currently working on expanding our breakfast, hopefully with an addition of more hot items. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Brittany Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor

Property: TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Address: 1301 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® in Ann Arbor is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen and high-speed Internet access. You can keep up with your exercise program in our fully equipped fitness center or relax & play in the indoor pool and hot tub. Whether you are here for business or pleasure the proximity to many major businesses and attractions make the TownePlace Suites byb Marriott® the choice when staying in Ann Arbor. Conveniently located to University of Michigan, Briarwood Mall, University of Michigan Hospital, Mott's Children's Hospital and downtown Ann Arbor the TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Ann Arbor South is the hotel of choice for business or leisure travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing