We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gelato”
Review of Iorio's Gelateria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Iorio's Gelateria
Ranked #23 of 24 Dessert in Ann Arbor
Price range: $3 - $4
Description: Specialties Gelato is an Italian frozen dessert made with milk, sugar, & real ingredients like nuts, chocolate, & fruit. Though it resembles ice cream, gelato has LESS fat & MORE flavor than ice cream. Our dairy free gelatos are made with fruit, water, & sugar for a smooth, creamy, & healthy treat! History Established in 2004. What started as a pushcart business selling italian ice at local events has turned into full retail location in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Mary, a sophomore in High School at the time, decided after many a summer trip to the east coast, that italian ice needed to be brought to the midwest. This pushcart business evolved into a season market location, and eventually a year round stand with gelato and italian ice. Upon Mary's graduation from U of M in 2010, she knew Ann Arbor could use some sweetness. She brought her younger brother Nick on board (U of M '13) and together they brought this dream to reality in July 2011.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialties Gelato is an Italian frozen dessert made with milk, sugar, & real ingredients like nuts, chocolate, & fruit. Though it resembles ice cream, gelato has LESS fat & MORE flavor than ice cream. Our dairy free gelatos are made with fruit, water, & sugar for a smooth, creamy, & healthy treat! History Established in 2004. What started as a pushcart business selling italian ice at local events has turned into full retail location in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Mary, a sophomore in High School at the time, decided after many a summer trip to the east coast, that italian ice needed to be brought to the midwest. This pushcart business evolved into a season market location, and eventually a year round stand with gelato and italian ice. Upon Mary's graduation from U of M in 2010, she knew Ann Arbor could use some sweetness. She brought her younger brother Nick on board (U of M '13) and together they brought this dream to reality in July 2011.
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Gelato”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a cute little Gelateria. The gelato isn't the best I've had but it's good, and they often have really cool flavors. I would definitely recommend going!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Ahh Gelato!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Once you have sampled authentic Italian Gelato, there is no turning back. It's a sweet addiction that is hard to kick. But who would want to?!

On this Saturday evening, I had just left a sushi restaurant on the other side of downtown which had been very disappointing. I needed to salvage the evening and satiate my disappointed palette. A quick search on my smart phone revealed Iorio's Gelateria diagonally across the downtown district - a 15 minute walk. This of course would be good justification for my fix: I had walked a mile for a Gelato.

Iorio's Gelateria is mid-block facing busy Williams Street. There are a few seats outside which were all occupied. I stepped in and was greeted by a pleasant U of M coed who offered me some samples of their gold. Who could resist. Fruitti di Busco, Malaga, Stracciatella - I could have feasted on samples but felt that my welcome might become worn. So it was decision time. Mango, Coffee Chocolate Chip and Fruitti di Busco. What a concoction but oh so good. The next time, if it isn't too late for a buzz, I'll opt to try their affogato - espresso soaked gelato!

Do yourself "un favore". Stop by Iorio's and spoil yourself with some Italian gold. You'll be saying Gratzi to yourself for the rest of the day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This is NOT how real gelato should taste !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The other trip advisor reviews of this place surprise me. This place produces nothing that tastes like authentic gelato. The fruit offerings should be exploding with flavor but instead have next to no taste at all. Some of the gelatos have crystalized, the sign of old product or even worse yet poor production. The gelato in local grocery stores is far superior to this stuff served in this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randyk164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always wondered where I could get gelato in AA and finally found this place! My husband and I got 3 flavors, all some kind of chocolate and we couldn't decide which was our favorite because they were all SO good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Endearing little gelateria”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

With the advent of alternatives to traditional ice cream, we have seen a half dozen yogurt and gelato parlors open shop within Washtenaw county in recent years. Of them, Iorio's Gelateria has remained consistently the best. Located across the street from Tower Plaza, just a block off from the heart of campus activity, the location is subtle and mainstream at the same time. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I've gelato-ed at Iorio's several times and the service has never been short of charming. The gelato itself is fantastic, the flavors are innovative, and the menu changes regularly. Although it's easy to overlook Iorio's Gelateria, given it's small size and residing underneath a residential building, I highly encourage not doing so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tai786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iorio's Gelateria also viewed

 

Been to Iorio's Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing