We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place To Stay For A College Scouting Trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Michigan League
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here to scout out the University of Michigan campus for a high school senior. Wonderful place to get the feel for the campus and close walking distance to downtown. You get a voucher (one per guest) to use at the coffee bar (breakfast burritos and other food available but not open on Saturdays and closed until 10 AM on Sundays) or mini mart downstairs (great selection and can use on food or beverage). Nice perk! Noise can be an issue as these are older rooms that have been rehabbed (not sure if dorms at one time) and there is noise from the hall. We had guests from a wedding and there were a lot of kids staying during our visit. Self service coffee and tea available across from check-in area. Only drawbacks we saw were the noise and the access to the fourth floor is via a small elevator in the middle of the hall. Packing passes for a lot about a block away are available at no charge.

Room Tip: Might want to ask about the rooms at the end to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elumnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

If your visit is related to the U of M, or you want to be in walking distance to university buildings or the downtown, then this is an excellent place to lodge. Those are the positives. As for being a quality place to lodge, the Inn at the Michigan League falls short. The decor, fixtures, carpet, bed quilt, curtains, and overall ambience is reminiscent of the early 70s. While the lobby-style seating outside the room doors is charming, it also presents a significant noise problem. You can literally hear any, and all, conversations in the hallway. I literally heard someone opening a can soda. Keeping with this noise problem, the elevator is extremely loud and extremely annoying.

As an alum, I have a strong affinity for the U of M - and the Michigan League. Thus, it pains me to say that my stay at the Inn was my worst lodging experience ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Boonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Michigan League for three days. It was a chance to explore Ann Arbor and reminisce our college days! The Inn is centrally located on the UofM campus, and as a result we were able to leave our car parked in the structure(for free!) and walk everywhere in town! The building itself is stately and lovely, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and inviting. The first floor has a lovely sitting area that is spacious and well appointed. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You might request a room that overlooks Ingalls Plaza. It is a pretty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAKFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed over Artt Fair weekend and the staff was not at all prepared for quest: our room was not cleaned, Internet did not work, and no one seemed to care. The rates for our stay were out of touch for what was offered; no breakfast included and really poor accommodations Would think twice before booking again. Bell Tower is much better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

There are three hotels in this general vicinity and I chose Michigan League because it had the most reasonable price. Given the fact that it's on the fourth floor of a school building, my main concern was that this would be closer to a dormitory than a hotel. That fear was quickly allayed when I arrived to find a large, clean, well-appointed hotel room. Staff at reception were always friendly and willing to help. The building itself has wonderful character and is in a great location, on Central Campus right across from the Burton Memorial Bell Tower and steps to State Street. Parking was free (a block away), which was a nice surprise and something I'm not used to from other hotels. We were each provided with $4.50 vouchers that could be redeemed at the downstairs cafe, or a number of other neighbouring establishments. I should mention that our room didn't have a phone - not a big issue for most people these days. There's also no room service or laundry available. All in all, I was very happy with my stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karmacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

good place if you are a prospective student, but certainly nothing special as far as accommodations. good price for the area and great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at the Michigan League for 3 nights. We were in town for a wedding, so there was a block of rooms.

It definitely has a dorm feel, especially when your friends are just down the hall. The location is wonderful, right in the heart of campus. We were able to walk to and from the wedding. We ran to the Nichols Arboretum (spectacular!!!) every morning. We were also able to walk to all restaurants, bars, movies, and Shakespeare in the Arb(oretum). On our way home from Shakespeare, we were able to watch the movie "Hugo" outdoors, in the quad adjacent to the Michigan League (as part of the Ann Arbor summer festival).

The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. A pleasant surprise.

For the money, I thought it was a fun and fabulous place. If you are looking for more luxe accomodations, stay at the Bell Tower Inn.

Room Tip: It's noisy, so we used the IPod dock next to the bed to play white noise on a repetitive loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#6 of 35 in Ann Arbor
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#15 of 35 in Ann Arbor
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
1.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#26 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Michigan League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Michigan League

Address: 911 N University Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1265
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Michigan's Landmark Hotel. The Inn at the Michigan League offers a uniquely Michigan experience, from the League's stained glass windows and handcrafted woodwork to the Pewabic tiles and one-of-a-kind campus views. In the heart of central campus and adjacent to the beautiful Ingalls Mall, the Inn at the Michigan League offers graciously appointed king rooms, double rooms, a wheelchair-accessible room, and a very spacious suite. All rooms feature complementary Wi-Fi, cable TV, a daily breakfast certificate, and complementary parking. The Michigan League building features a first-floor cafe and coffee shop and is just a short walk from Ann Arbor's eclectic downtown area. Come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At The Michigan League Hotel Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing