We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in center of campus”

Inn at the Michigan League
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Michigan League
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location in center of campus”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our tax driver couldn't find it though and delivered us to the Bell Tower Hotel despite using a GPS. It's on the 4th floor of the Michigan League building which is a kind of student union building. Large room with a king sized bed. Only downside was the heat/Aircon. We couldn't turn the heating off and so only options were to turn on the very noisy aircon or open the window as it was too hot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moominoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We are staying at this hotel to move my daughter into University of Michigan. We had some issues with our flights and needed to stay an extra day and they were terrific with trying to accommodate our needs. They emailed an called and were very attentive and understanding. We would highly recommend staying here given the great customer service and the fabulous location

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank zralos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

As previous reviewers have pointed out: the inn is right at the center of campus; everything is in walking distance (including Amtrak station - we walked there with quite a bit of luggage). The food voucher allows you to purchase basic breakfast ingredients, coffee is provided for free in the hall.
If you travel with a family or larger group, make sure you book the suite. It is huge and sleeps/accomodates up to 6 people easily. There are also two tables, one of which large, and at least 10 chairs.
Some minor points: the ventilation is noisy and cannot be switched off, the aircondition cannot be adjusted - it cools with very cold air, the alternative is no-aircon. The suite is separated from a downstairs room by a door only, so there might be some noise from there.
All in all a very agreeable stay (family of 4) at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mourspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed here during the weekend of the Big Chill hockey game and could not have been more pleased. The location is phenomenal: you simply can't get more central to campus, because you're ON campus! We parked the car (parking is free not two blocks from the hotel, in a covered garage) and walked everywhere that weekend. Each morning you get a $4.50 voucher good for any of the eateries in the building (we liked Brewster, a coffee place). Free Wi-Fi, but the signal was a little weak for an iPad (came in fine on my son's laptop). There is Ethernet-based access in each room as well. Service was wonderful. Complementary coffee and tea station. Only a block from State Street and all the restaurants and shops it has to offer (Ashley's is worth going to just for the beer selection - see review). The building (Michigan League) itself is beautiful and was decorated for the holidays. The rooms are well-appointed. We had a room with 2 full size beds, which were a little small. In retrospect, we should have taken a king-sized bed and added a roll-away for our son. It is tough to get reservations here, especially for sports weekends. With the exception of the Bell Tower hotel nearby, though, nearly every other lodging option in Ann Arbor is on the outskirts of town. If you want to be a part of the campus scene during your stay, you simply can't beat the Inn at the Michigan League!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GDRWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at the Inn at the Michigan League for two days this summer. We found that it was extremely clean, that the room furnishings were charming and matched the rest of the building and that the bed was comfy. We really enjoyed staying there. The services are a bit limited (no laundry or room service) but you are so close to everything in Ann Arbor that it really doesn't matter. If oyu dont want to stay at a B&B or the other expensive hotels, this is the place for you! But book in advance because they are almost always full.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mccoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

The rooms at Michigan League are recommended for
visitors to the campus. Rooms are comfortably furnished
and in the quiet part of the building.

The only eating place worth visiting is Beanster Cafe on
the first floor.

  • Liked — location, atmosphere
  • Disliked — lack of adequate eating facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

The best thing about the Michigan League is its location in the middle of campus. The building also has a certain amount of charm and the rooms while not modern are pleasant enough updates of a dorm room. The court yard is truly charming. Two notes to visitors: 1. there is limited signage in the building and the hotel and check in are on the 4th floor; 2. the coffee from the hotel and the coffee shop on the first floor is horrible.

  • Liked — location, campus feeling to the room and the whole building
  • Disliked — bad coffee; difficulty coming in after 11 p.m.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank phillycmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#18 of 34 in Ann Arbor
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#27 of 34 in Ann Arbor
153 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Michigan League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Michigan League

Property: Inn at the Michigan League
Address: 911 N University Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1265
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Inn At The Michigan League Hotel Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing