We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberve Service! I'll be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Suberve Service! I'll be back!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a few qualms about staying at this hotel. I have had a lot of bad experiences at hotels especially ones in the mid-west. This stay proved to be one of the best I have had in many years. One reason being was that when I arrived I was under a great deal of stress. But when I walked and was welcomed so warmly by the attendant, I almost instantly felt the stress was lifted. She was so helpful. When I needed more towels, I walked down there Nicole offered to bring them up for me. Just a great experience, I felt I'd remark on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    72
    40
    19
    17
See reviews for
75
55
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is located near the Briarwood Mall and is about 4 miles south of the University of Michigan campus. The positives are that the facilities seem to have been updated recently, and the free breakfast buffet is good. My room was comfortable enough, though I found the extremely low water pressure in the shower to be a source of frustration during my 3-day stay. Like other travelers, I also found my interactions with the front desk staff to be less than ideal as they couldn't answer basic questions about local transportation, claimed they were unable to produce an invoice upon checkout, and insisted on photocopying my credit card. I think this is fine place to stay, but don't expect much in the way of service or amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here for about a week while I was looking for a job. The room was cleaned very well every time I requested it and the cleaning people were friendly. The service I received from the people at the front desk was good too. One young lady, I think her name was Nicole, helped me out changing the batteries in the tv remote and even changed my room when I requested. Overall a swell experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I checked into this hotel, and found out I had a room on the first floor. As a single woman traveler who likes to sleep with the window open, I asked for a second or third floor room. Nicole at the front desk told me that it was impossible for her to change my room since I booked online. She then said there was only one other room with two queen beds on the third floor, and that it "is in a bad part of the hotel...you wouldn't want to be there." She told me that "this place is safe, you'll be fine." I begrudgingly took the room as assigned even though I have NEVER had a hotel staff person say it's impossible to change a room, and settled in for the night.

Two hours after I checked in, I hear voices outside my door and rattling, as if someone was trying to get into my room. I opened the door to see a very confused older couple who had also been booked into my room. They went back to the front desk and a second employee gave them a different room. I then got a call from Nicole asking me what my last name was. REALLY? She didn't say "This is Nicole from the front desk." She just said "What's the last name of the person staying in this room?" without identifying herself. I didn't feel safe with that so I physically went to the front desk. She said that there was a mixup and even though she had my reservation and had, two hours earlier, scanned my credit card and checked my license, she had somehow removed me from the computer records and didn't know who I was. I said my name, and then showed her my license. She then "corrected" my pronunciation of my last name, and assured me that this time, there would now be a record of me being checked into my room.

The facilities are nice enough, the location is right off the highway and next to a Red Roof Inn and a Burger King, but with a front desk staff person that has no idea how to do her job and, in fact, endangers my safety by PUTTING OTHER PEOPLE IN MY HOTEL ROOM, I would not come back here.

Room Tip: Ask when you book for a specific type of room. Apparently they don't believe in changing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reminderville, oh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and the front desk staff was very helpful and made my stay an outstanding one. Only knock on this is the location, kinda hard to get into due to no left turn in the street entrance. You have to drive past the hotel if your headed south then make a upturn somewhere and head north to gain access. Other than that minor inconvenience this is a great stay! Will return when staying in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have family in the area and found this was a great place to stay during our visit. This particular property was very nice and we were glad that we had found such a good place as we were staying in the area for 3 nights. Comfy beds, very clean, everything well maintained. Nice lobby and breakfast room. Front desk staff were especially helpful and helped us find restaurants, a nail salon, and helped find places we wanted on our map. They alerted us to road construction and areas to avoid. The price was very good as was the location. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A hotel I always stay in during the football weekend. The hotel had been renovated since my last stay. I made great use of the new flat screen tvs during down time. I was happy there was also a fridge and microwave in the room that were very convenient. I booked multiple rooms over the phone with Nicole. She was very helpful and got all rooms together as well as any adjustments I needed before my arrival. She was also very nice and her customer service was exceptional. Overall I was more than satisfied with my experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#24 of 34 in Ann Arbor
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing