We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation was a little bit of a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Rochester, MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Renovation was a little bit of a disappointment!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had heard there was construction in the hotel and was leery to book a room, but we did. The lobby is torn up and so is the breakfast area, and most of what seemed to be the first floor. I never heard any noise from it though. We were on the third floor and was shocked to walk into the hallway. It was literally freezing. Walking thru the halls we glanced at the thermostat and it was 57 degrees. It was blowing out cold air. We called the front desk and they said they knew but would let maintenance know. It never warmed up. They should have turned it off, probably would have been warmer. Needless to say, we turned up the heat in our room and it warmed up quickly.

We got a suite with a jacuzzi tub. Its a spacious room, one that probably needs updating, but still clean and nice. The tub was deep and perfect for relaxing. In addition, there is a large bath/shower and vanity. There is a separate living room area and small fridge/microwave. They also have direct TV and wifi. The internet is relatively slow, but still adequate. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and we slept well.

The staff was very nice and friendly, other than the heat issue, the only other complaint I had was the breakfast area. We went down for breakfast the first morning and were very disappointed. There was very little of anything left. The eggs were cold and the small spoonful I got was sad. The sausage pattie was greasy and cold. There was no fruit left at all, one of the spots for silverware was empty so we didnt get a fork but ended up eating with a spoon. The coffee carafe was at the bottom and ended up dispensing coffee grounds. I threw the cup away and went up to the room to make coffee. The final disappointment with the breakfast area is that the trash was overflowing. Not only was it full, it was all over the floor. The whole breakfast area had not been attended and it was obvious by the amount of empty food and overflowing trash. The second morning we went down and I got the last banana (at 7:30 am) and some coffee, there were unbussed tables and a filthy floor. Definitely find another alternative for breakfast, at least until construction is over!

If it werent for the staff and cleanliness of our room, I would have rated this much lower. Hopefully once the construction/remodeling is done, it will be much better.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite was large and spacious and clean. Jacuzzi is in the room and there is still a tub/sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenl0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Comfort Inn & Suites during our renovation. While I'm glad that you were pleased with your room, please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointing breakfast experience.

I will make sure that corrective measures are taken to ensure that a similar situation does not occur in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. At Comfort Inn, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent other, similar, problems in the future. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at our Comfort Inn & Suites the next time your travel plans require lodging in the Ann Arbor area.

Very truly yours,
Magdalena Sayed – GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    38
    18
    17
See reviews for
70
54
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here because it was close to a craft show I was participating in over the weekend and it was just off the interstate. I had stayed here a previous year and it was fine. The hotel was in the midst of being renovated which didn't cause any real problem. The room was adequate, but showed signs of use, the furniture appeared old and worn, hopefully it will be changed during the renovations.

I was placed in the handicap room just around the corner from the check-in desk off the lobby (why?)... When I came back to the hotel that evening after setting up at my craft show (after 8pm), the lobby was filled with a very noisy group passing out T-shirts for something that they were sponsoring in the area that week-end. Needless to say, the noise easily carried down to the room where I was at. I did mention to the clerk that I had a 5:30 wake up call for the next morning, so I hoped that they wouldn't be out there making all that noise all night. I think that things finally got quieted down around 10:30 that evening.
The group was stationed in front of the breakfast room, which was pretty much empty, it may have been better for them to have been moved into the room to conduct their activity.

Room Tip: Don't get the handicapped room at the end of the hall if you want to have a quiet night's sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent experience at our Comfort Inn & Suites. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies the inconvenience the noise caused you.

I value your comments and we will use your input to better our service. At Comfort Inn, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we also value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you again for sharing your concerns and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Comfort Inn & Suites the next time your travel plans require lodging in the area.

Sincerely yours,
Magdalena Sayed – GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Here's a cc of the note I sent to Comfort Inn after my stay here:


When we checked in on the 26th we were surprised to find that the hotel is undergoing serious renovations that include volumous clouds of dust, noise, and work crews. The lobby was partially usable as a result and the noise definitely interfered with a comfortable stay. We were not notified of this before reserving the room.

Further, I intentionally booked this hotel because the website said there was a free shuttle within a five mile radius. However, the first day I asked the agent six times how we might get downtown and she told us that our only options were to order a cab or take a bus. She just refused to make the shuttle available.

The next day the other amenity for which I always filter suitable hotesl -- the wifi -- was unavailable most of the day, making it difficult for me to conduct necessary business.

Finally, on the day we departed tried to use the dedicated Yellow Taxi phone in the lobby to call for an airport ride. The taxi service had a delay message that required I hit a button on the phone to remain on the line. As the phone has no numbers on it, I had to disconnect. I went inside and asked Sayem to please call a taxi. He told me that I have a cellphone and could call myself. He was not wrong -- I do have a cellphone -- but it was packed away and, frankly, I consider calling a taxi part of guest services. It was the day before when the agent offered to call me a taxi in lieu of offering the hotel shuttle for the 3 mile trip to downtown Ann Arbor. All in all, a disappointing experience. I have another CI stay booked next month for business travel (in NC) and have scheduled elsewhere as I cannot generally afford interruptions to work and sleep while traveling.

Regretfully,

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CoyaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Comfort Inn & Suites. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be used to enact corrective measures to ensure that a similar situation does not occur in the future.

If you have any other concerns or comments, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Very truly yours,
Magdalena Sayed – GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
254 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Decent hotel. Rooms older but clean. Good, but not great beds. Breakfast room was undergoing renovation. Breakfast average Comfort Inn. Fast Internet.
Snowed 4-6" wet inches Mon evening - ended by 9 pm. Parking lot not plowed as of 8:00 am Tue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave4_-_3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Red Roof Inn. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary wifi and breakfast. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the late snow removal from our lot.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure that a comparable situation does not occur in the future. At Comfort Inn, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent any similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Comfort Inn & Suites the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,
Magdalena Sayed – GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children) stayed here on a Thursday night after we attended a girls michigan basketball game. Our room was very clean and all that we could need for a nights stay. We used the pool and hit tub and both were clean and well maintained...we all enjoyed it! The breakfast the next morning was good, just your usual hotel breakfast. Eggs, sausage patties, waffle maker and cereals, pastries, bagels, English muffins. Juice and coffee and milk. It was good and we will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awilson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I'm glad the cleanliness of our rooms met your standards, and that you were able to take advantage of the ammenities we offer.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next stay at Comfort Inn & Suites!

Sincerely,

Maggie Sayed - GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We gathered as an extended family from different places around the country for a birthday holiday. We reserved 2 king jacuzzi suites because of the large living area and kitchenette. We really had a great time. We spent a lot of time in the pool area because of lots of kids. There was a sign at the desk that said they apologize for the broken jacuzzi (or some wording like that). I assumed it meant the ones in the room (which we did not use). Then, in the pool/hot tub area there was a sign taped over the "bubbles" button of the hot tub that said, "out of order". I assumed that meant the motor was broken but the hot tub was still useable because there was no sign on the hot tub and no barrier. So we used the hot tub. The second day, a man came in and taped a sign to the hot tub handle bar that said that the hot tub was out of service but did not say anything to all of the people in the pool area. We stopped using it after that (after a day of swimming in it already). Other People still came and used the hot tub. The evening after we checked out of the hotel, several family members, including adults and children developed a strange rash and joint pain. The rash began to spread from torso to arms and legs and began to itch and be more painful. Three different families coming from three different places, no one felt sick before, during, or after- just the rash and pain all got at the same time. It appears to look the same as the rash described as "hot tub" folliculitis. However, our doctor looked at it and is not sure that that's what it is ( i think it is) and now my kids have not been back to school for three days and I can't go to work until the rash has been deemed "not contagious"! This is disrupting our lives greatly. Won't risk going to this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeFan32_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Comfort Inn & Suites. I am so sorry that your families' experiences did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience, discomfort, and frustration you must have felt.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure that a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Comfort Inn, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent other, similar problems, in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Comfort Inn & Suites the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,
Magdalena Sayed
General Manager

Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was in Ann Arbor to visit U Mich with my son. He stayed on campus with a friend and I was looking for someplace close to the school that met my needs. I found that in this Comfort Inn.

The hotel was clean and the front desk was pleasant. My room was on the back side facing away from the highway, which was quiet. The room was well appointed and clean. I had 2 queen beds, there was a chair with a pull out ottoman, a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker (coffee and tea bags supplied) and the flat screen TV was 42" (the largest I have ever seen in a hotel room) with plenty of free channels. The sink was outside of the bathroom which is something I usually prefer. Beds and pillows were comfortable, I slept very well.

I connected to the wifi without and trouble. For email and browsing it was fine, I didn't try any video streaming, the TV was nicer!! I did use the computer in the lobby to print a boarding pass for a friend travelling with us and it took almost 15 minutes to get into my email to print it (note there is a 20 minute time limit on the computer, but I should have only need 1 minute for this simple task - don't expect to get anything done if you need it for anything more)

The breakfast was the typical fare for a Comfort Inn. The eggs looked sketchy, but there was a waffle maker, the usual muffins, etc. There was yogurt and fresh apples & oranges. The dining area was a little small, but the hotel wasn't very busy during my stay so it wasn't a problem.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msayed, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary wireless and in-room televisions. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next stay at Comfort Inn & Suites.

Sincerely,

Maggie Sayed - GM
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#23 of 34 in Ann Arbor
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing