We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Friendly Staff”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 months in a room with a kitchen. The staff is super-nice. My only complaint is that Wi Fi is a little slow. Other than that, everything was wonderful!!! Breakfast was yummy. Towels were fresh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    41
    21
    26
See reviews for
44
30
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Clean with a full range of amenities including coffee maker, microwave, & fridge. There are no full restaurants nearby but a nice coffee shop in a really cool old gas station is right across the street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel was quite good, clean rooms, wide rooms with kitchinette. They changed towels every day. One of the bad things was the internet (wifi) connection it was not working in general. An the other thing... the same exactly the same for breakfast every day!!! everything else was ok. Recommendable and cheap

Room Tip: ask for a good internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CordobaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I made reservation 2 days before checking in. they showed me a room at the 1’Th floor, saying that the room at the second floor I asked for, will be the same. We arrived late by night feeling the terrible odor of the room. We took a shower realizing that the previous guest’s used soap is still there. Not to mention those tiny towels they supply. We could not sleep because of the noise from the neighbor’s room behind the thin wall. I gave up sleeping, and tried to book another room at another hotel but the Wi-Fi was so poor I was not able to do it. Getting up early next morning because of the broken blinds, I realized how filthy and worn-out the carpets were. When we had breakfast the room was supposed to be cleaned. I entered it after the poor breakfast realizing that the same dust and food leftovers of the previous guest are still on the carpet. I asked the receptionist for extra vacuum cleaning. They sent the housekeeper and standing near her doing it I realized it is not going to improve. We told the receptionist that we intend to leave and went to town to find a place with an efficient Wi.Fi, were we can sit and find another place to stay. We intended to stay 3 weeks but stayed one night. It happend that we left after check- out hour so they not only charged us for 2 nights but the upcharge to the daily rate of $58/night from the original weekly rate of 279/week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaniAvinoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Washington DC USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stay here for value and convenience and the Lamp Post offers both. Sure, it's not the Four Seasons but unless you plan to spend all day in your room and miss room service, how important is that? This last trip we realized that the little strip mall around the side of the Lamp Post is also a resource--Trader Joes and a sandwich shop, cleaners, other stores. And in warm weather, DQ Blizzard lovers, there's a DQ just around the corner. And free Wifi that's perfectly serviceable.

Only gripe: the pillows are sad little things.

Room Tip: We took advice from the reviews below and asked for a room over the lobby. It was fine, but because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Mary B -
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review of Lamp Post Inn. We are thrilled you found our hotel more than adequate for your stay in Ann Arbor and hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you to the area in the future.

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, Ak
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent a week at the Lamp Post Inn in November, and we had a lovely time. It is two miles from the University of Michigan, which is walking distance for me. It is a very pleasant walk through a mainly residential area. If you don't enjoy walking you can catch the bus. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haines_AKMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Haines -
So happy that you found our location convenient for both walking and public transportation. Thank you for taking a moment to leave the positive feedback for others to read.

Regards,

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Quite honestly I have stayed there several times in last years. This is the best place in town. It is situated very close to University. It is well connected as it is in the intersection of Washtneaw and Stadium. Very close to county park. The rooms are nice and have cross ventilation which is very important specially for longer stay. The balconies are very good and overall gives a very saline atmosphere. Added advantage is that a shopping complex with Trader's Joe is adjacent to the hotel, which makes it very convenient. The staff is superb and friendly. Yes, rooms could be bit cleaner and they can change breakfast menu on a regular basis ... other than that I will give 5 stars for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Krishna -
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review for The Lamp Post Inn. We really appreciate the feedback are are thrilled you found the location convenient and staff friendly. We hope you will continue to choose us for future visits to Ann Arbor area.

Regards,

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#29 of 35 in Ann Arbor
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing