We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Haines, Ak
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent a week at the Lamp Post Inn in November, and we had a lovely time. It is two miles from the University of Michigan, which is walking distance for me. It is a very pleasant walk through a mainly residential area. If you don't enjoy walking you can catch the bus. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haines_AKMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Haines -
So happy that you found our location convenient for both walking and public transportation. Thank you for taking a moment to leave the positive feedback for others to read.

Regards,

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    39
    19
    26
See reviews for
40
29
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Quite honestly I have stayed there several times in last years. This is the best place in town. It is situated very close to University. It is well connected as it is in the intersection of Washtneaw and Stadium. Very close to county park. The rooms are nice and have cross ventilation which is very important specially for longer stay. The balconies are very good and overall gives a very saline atmosphere. Added advantage is that a shopping complex with Trader's Joe is adjacent to the hotel, which makes it very convenient. The staff is superb and friendly. Yes, rooms could be bit cleaner and they can change breakfast menu on a regular basis ... other than that I will give 5 stars for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Krishna -
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review for The Lamp Post Inn. We really appreciate the feedback are are thrilled you found the location convenient and staff friendly. We hope you will continue to choose us for future visits to Ann Arbor area.

Regards,

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

King size bed, clean rooms opening towards huge parking lot, great sunshine, free breakfast and free internet!
Over all great value for money!

2 miles off Ross School of business, bus stop nearby! Friendly owner / receptionist! Great experience!

Just one irritant! Reception closes after 11 PM, so no help available after that. I came out of my room for a minute, forgot the keys inside and was locked out with outside temp 25F, and I was in Jeans and at shirt!

Otherwise all well, would probably stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
RGAAN -
Very please you found the Lamp Post Inn a great value during your recent stay in Ann Arbor. Very sorry about your experience with the keys! We do hope you will choose us again should your travels bring you to the area.

Regards,

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at this place when on a post-doc fellowship to U of M. Hotel is fine for basic things like a bed, a stove to cook meals on, etc. The facilities are old, but the staff tries really hard to keep things clean. There is not much room to fault them there. But, the Wi-Fi system for the guests just sucks. I stayed here over the summer for 2 weeks and fought with it, and had planned to stay for 3 other 3-week periods, but after the first week of the second trip, I had had enough and changed to another hotel (Extended Stay at the Briarwood Mall) with reliable Wi-Fi. Lamp Post Inn's Wi-Fi crashes several times a day, and is super slow. If you want to return to your room and continue your work of the day, this is not the place for it. Also, things would be much better if the hotel offered on-site washers and dryers. The cleaner in the shopping center next door will do laundry by the pound, but it would be much more convenient if guests could do laundry on the weekends, etc. Another thing: Trader Joe's next store really sucks ... I recommend taking the 4 line bus, or better yet walking, to the Whole Foods (a 10 min walk at most) to the east. Whole Paycheck aka Whole Foods has a much better selection of stuff. There is also a WalGreen's, Panera, B&N Bookstore, etc. there. Speaking of the buses -- they are pretty good, and if you don't want to rent a car (say you are a starving graduate student headed to U of M for a research trip), consider a Flex Pass ($58 for 30 days buses cost $1.50 each way, so you can save money if you ride a lot, like I did). Lamp Post Inn is nice if you want access to U of M central campus -- again, the 4 line will take you there. One final point -- no need to pay for taxi service to Lamp Post Inn from DTW. Take Michigan AirRide/Flyers whatever bus ... $12 gets your from DTW to the main bus center, and then another $1.50 (or if you have a Flex Card mailed to you before you travel to A2, it's already paid for) to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Frank -
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am sorry you found the internet inadequate but i am appreciate the details on the area - these will certainly be helpful for future visitors.

B. Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As others have mentioned, you get what you pay for. Never more true than with the Lamp Post Inn.

PRO: low room prices. Period.

CONS: Hard mattress; thin pillows; thin walls (you can hear your neighbors talking and what they're watching on TV); very few electrical outlets; bubbling and peeling wallpaper; very few--and small--towels; the hot water in the shower suddenly turns cold, then back to the set temperature, then very hot, then back to the temperature you set it at, over and over.

I never got more than 2 straight hours of sleep any of the 3 nights I was there because of the combination of the hard mattress and thin pillows. The rates are low, but not low enough to cover the negatives here.

I will never stay at the Lamp Post again, and will be telling others the same thing.

Room Tip: You really do get what you pay for. At a minimum most travelers want a place that's comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob5224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the price. It is very affordable, and it is clean overall. The furnishings are outdated, but if you're only going to sleep there, that isn't bad. Staff is friendly, and the hotel is very conveniently located. Close to 23 and i94, as well as the Umich main campus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimmingrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing