We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real deal...but no beer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaican Jerk Pit

Jamaican Jerk Pit
Ranked #167 of 588 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The real deal...but no beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Jerk this good needs a few cold ones on the side. That's my only complaint about this great spot. The chicken was delicious and the jerk sauce is genuine. I bought a bottle to take home!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanglazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Secret gems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stay in Ann Arbor for several years, I don't know how I missed this restaurant. The food was very good and authentic. Secret gems for central campus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Jamaican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Jamaican Jerk Pit for years. Even though we live 45 minutes away it is always worth the drive....even with our 2 year old!! The food is absolutely amazing. My husband and I were married in Jamaica and I think the food is equal to what we had on our wedding trip (and that food was incredible).

In addition to great food, we always have a warm greeting from the owner. He is a really nice guy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamaicanBride1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Came here for lunch with a colleague. I had the Jerk pork which was tender and delicious serviced with rice and red beans. I went for the spicy variety which was a good choice. Wash it down with some Ting and you are ready for the afternoon. The staff was super friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bnmnetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meal Quality Depends on Cook”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've had several meals at this restaurant. It has that cool Jamaican "get happy" vibe immediately when you walk in the door. The restaurant is down a flight of stairs and is decorated with the Jamaican national colors. If nothing else, it is a great place to hang out on a dreary Michigan winter day. The menu is authentic Jamaican - jerk chicken, curry dishes, rice & peas, etc. It is the only place in the midwest where I can get Ting. My grandmother grew up in Jamaica and we visit the country as much as possible so I have tasted all varieties of Jamaican cooking. I have business in Ann Arbor frequently and always try to eat at the Jamaican Jerk Pit while I am there. Depending on the cook, the food can be really good or average. I've never had a bad meal there. The clientele at lunch and dinner includes students (most look to be graduate students) and local business people. If you need a Jamaican food fix, the Jamaican Jerk Pit is worth a try. Let's hope you get the better cook on the day you are there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyB30007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaican Jerk Pit also viewed

 

Been to Jamaican Jerk Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing