We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are 6 stars an option?”

Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone gets creative in this interactive science and technology museum, featuring engaging exhibits in subjects like psychology, the media and health.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Are 6 stars an option?”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I took my 6 year old daughter and we both had a blast! Don't let the outside fool you.... It is definitely bigger on the inside.

Helpful?
Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    117
    19
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My 2-year-old Loved the Toddler Room”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I took my two-year-old daughter to the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum in June, and she loved it. The toddler room has a lot of activities that cater to that age perfectly. She enjoyed playing with the ball machine and the Picasso tiles, and we couldn't pry her away from the water table. Despite living in Royal Oak (45 miles away), we have purchased a family membership and will visit whenever we are back in Ann Arbor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Museum for Kids”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We I visited with our son (7) and daughter (3.75). They both really enjoyed the museum, especially the top level with the music and video screen. I think many of the displays are too advanced to hold the attention of our daughter, but there was a special room just for pre-schoolers to play. Our son got more out of the displays. At $11 a person, it was a little pricey for the time we spent there. Might be worth it more when the kids are a bit older.

Helpful?
Thank Trcjmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
310 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Kids Museum”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I watched this museum develop from the start and it has flourished into a wonderful attraction that keeps the kids busy for hours. A must stop in Ann Arbor, this museum has exhibits for children from the preschool room to grade school. There are plenty of young people around to ask questions and guide little minds to question and understand their world. I highly recommend a trip when in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hjensen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Energy Outlet”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made a special trip to Ann Arbor for this museum. The displays were really good, but this place was expensive. It cost us $33 to get in and we didn't feel we got the value out of that for our visit. Our son is a little young to do some of the displays and understand the science behind them. He really enjoyed the water works and the Pre K room with the balls. The restrooms were a little disheveled, but not the worst I have ever seen. If I lived there and could get a membership, perhaps this would have had a better value for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Southpaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing