We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Fairmont, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Unfortunately, my partner and I only had one night at Avalyn Garden B&B during a recent trip through Michigan. Lee and Donna were wonderful hosts...warm, friendly, and gracious. Their home is lovely, the accommodations first class, and their breakfast scones mouthwatering (I left with the recipe!). We will be back, and next time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast is a hidden treasure conveniently-located walking distance from UM's campus. The property is extremely quaint as each room has a unique theme. Donna and Lee are extremely kind and hospitable hosts and their warmth and attention to detail are unparalleled! The home-cooked breakfasts were delicious and the seasonal decor, coupled with UM-themed treats (such as cookies and candy bars) added a nice touch! I highly recommend this B and B to anyone who is looking for a place to relax/unwind in a cozy atmosphere with wonderful hosts!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at B&B's all over the country...I rate this one in the top 5 for warmth, comfort and superb food. I give them an A+ for handling a brief power outage that could
have been a bummer but Donna and Lee made it fun. How can you go wrong with the ambience of sitting in front of a fire with a glass of wine and chatting with good people. Donna and Lee are warm and wonderful hosts and I plan on staying with them again the next time I go to Ann Arbor.
Did I say that the food is really good? I am a food snob...take my word for it!
Lynn-Yellow Springs,OH

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this beautiful b&b for 4 nights (Wed - Sun) and really enjoyed the courteous hospitality of Donna and Lee. The breakfast was fantastic (especially on the weekend) and always the perfect start of the day. The Santiago room I stayed in was lovely and the bathroom was awesome. In other words, Avalyn Garden is a true gem. I highly recommend it to everyone!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at Avalyn B&B. It was our dirt experience with a B&B and I can say that our stay was very enjoyable. Donna and Lee made it very comfortable for us an we thourally enjoyed the two delicious breakfast that they made for us. The rooms were decorated lovely and the beds very comfortable. Thanks again Donna and Lee we look forward to spending time again at your home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mettawas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Owner at Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We believe the reviewer intended to say "first bed and breakfast experience". Otherwise we appreciate the favorable comments. Thank you, Avalyn Garden B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lee and Donna are fantastic hosts, and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Avalyn Garden B&B. We felt very welcome in their beautiful home, and are so grateful for their hospitality! Avalyn Garden is very centrally located, close to everything (less than a 5 minute drive to campus and U of M hospitals). The rooms had everything you would need, complete with comfortable beds, a spaciuos private bathroom, mini-fridge, and TV. Breakfast was delicious; it was a week-day and continental breakfast was served, which exceeded our expectations in terms of choices (several breads, muffins, hard-boiled eggs and cereal), and started with a special yougurt and granola parfait. We were sorry that we could not stay longer, and look forward to a return trip next time we are in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had (only) expected a great location for the family wedding, and we certainly had that. Avalyn Garden was within walking distance of all of the celebration events near the campus. But it was so much more ... everything about this place was terrific! The hosts are the type of folks you'd enjoy getting to know in any setting: they're immediately a combination of family, good friends, as well as knowledgeable guides to anything you ask.

Everything we would like to find in a B&B was here. The house felt inviting from the moment we stepped inside. The rooms were comfortable (we stayed in Santiago, but we also visited the Monet). The bathrooms and beds were great; wi-fi and the other amenities were all there. The dining was just superb--we had to ask for some of the recipes. On our last day we needed to leave for a very early morning flight, and to our surprise, we found some 'breakfast bags' waiting for us as we left. This is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
2.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#18 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1930 Washtenaw Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast is located on Washtenaw Avenue in Ann Arbor, one quarter mile south of the University of Michigan campus and one and a half miles from downtown Ann Arbor. It is a thirty minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport and five minutes from the U of M hospitals. Our goal is to provide guests with a warm and enjoyable experience and a desire to return for a second visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing