We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mediterranean food.”
Review of Zamaan Cafe

Zamaan Cafe
Ranked #77 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bass Harbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mediterranean food.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything we tried was excellent. The falafel was exceptional & the cauliflower dish was wonderful. Extraordinary food in a small strip mall restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
285 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“amazing food!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

How I wish I could cook like this! I took my 15-year-old, picky-eater son here two nights ago and we had a delightful meal together. Even my son loved the food! We got the meal for two, which included hummus and pita, Fatoush, Chicken tawook, Lamb kufta, rice, falafel and grape leaves, all for $25! The food was just delicious. The highlight for me was the Chicken Tawook and rice. Perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked. I have to say,the atmosphere is just okay. This is kind of a nook restaurant. Not the kind of place you would take someone to impress them with a grandiose-looking restaurant, but rather the kind of place you would take someone to impress them with the FOOD. I definitely plan on returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMelissa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had an early dinner at this cafe based on other reviews. The service was fine but the food was not even close to the best Middle-Eastern we have had elsewhere in southeast Michigan. The vegetarian grape leaves and lentil soup were average - the rice had absolutely no taste and my wife's vegetarian dish was so greasy-oily she could hardly eat it. I don't usually judge a restaurant on one visit since off-nights happen everywhere, but if you are willing to drive 25 minutes to the western suburbs of Detroit, you have a wider selection of restaurants, all with much better food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don6545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Middle-Eastern in Ann Arbor”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Chicken Shwarma roll is to die for. Also check out the fried broccoli thing which is amazing. Been here more than a dozen times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vvolkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Mid-East Dining in north Ann Arbor”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Extraordinarily large portions of very tasty food. Most appetizers are easily enough for 2, and many would serve as a full meal.

Noteworthy and different: the stuffed falafel and the roasted cauliflower appetizers. The entrée chicken on hummus had very well balanced flavors and, again very generous portions.

The only disappointment was the pita. Individual ones were folded and wrapped in plastic. By the time we got them they were no longer warm and so chewy we didn't bother to use them. Ask for fresh ones which I'm sure wont disappoint because the flavor was excellent.

Also loved the black tea. Served in glasses it was very strong but without a trace of bitterness.

We've eaten at every mid-East restaurant in Ann Arbor (pretty much all of which are excellent) and this is right up there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zamaan Cafe also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Zamaan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing