We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss it”

Monahan's Seafood Market
Ranked #73 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American
Description: Monahan's has been in business for over 37 years. Lunch is served 11-3 Mon-Sat. Not only do we have a bountiful case of fresh seafood daily, we fillet whole fish in store. We have an ever-expanding file of recipes in the store and here on our site. We also offer a full complement of made-to-order, easy-to-heat take-home gourmet meals. And if you come by our store at lunchtime, we'll happily serve you the daily special, something from our menu or cook to order any item in our case.
Restaurant details
Description: Monahan's has been in business for over 37 years. Lunch is served 11-3 Mon-Sat. Not only do we have a bountiful case of fresh seafood daily, we fillet whole fish in store. We have an ever-expanding file of recipes in the store and here on our site. We also offer a full complement of made-to-order, easy-to-heat take-home gourmet meals. And if you come by our store at lunchtime, we'll happily serve you the daily special, something from our menu or cook to order any item in our case.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't miss it”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

fresh fish. varied menu. friendly service. 2 happy customers. only wished that we lived in the area, we would definitely come back. we had the fish tacos with a side of really delicious spinach. just a small informal place but the best food we had in ann arbor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamknowswhatshelikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sets the standard”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Amazingly fresh seafood of the highest quality, with friendly expert advice on preparation. Their minuscule lunch counter will satisfy your raw oyster cravings or offer a simple dish. Take-home semi-prepared fish dishes have saved many a hostess. Absolutely the best. You'd have to be at the docks to outdo Monahan's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, MI
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No Better Seafood West of Boston”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Run, don't walk, to Monahan's. They have fish you've probably never even heard of, and most of them are virtually still alive -- and Monahan's even supplies recipes so you know what to do with 'em! Their displays are exquisite, the staff are the kindest, sweetest people in Ann Arbor, and their professionalism is beyond compare. Once you become a "regular," they'll often remember your usual order and call you at home if one of your piscine favorites arrives (you've gotta give them your phone number, of course). What's more, Mike Monahan and his wife support Ann Arbor community causes in countless ways. Help your heart, save the calories, reduce your cholesterol and enjoy the best seafood you've ever had. All that, and more, at Monahan's.

P.S. Located in Kerrytown, parking is often limited. The Ann Arbor Farmers' Market is in full swing on Wednesday and Saturday mornings, making parking in the area even more difficult. However, the Farmers' Market might be a very good reason to shop there ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High Quality”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The fish is always fresh and there is a diversity of products. It is expensive but to me it is worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindishake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Freshest of the fresh”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Best seafood ever, friendly, helpful staff. Worth every penny--you're worth it and it'll be seafood you won't soon forget.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monahan's Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Monahan's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing