We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ann Arbor must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frita Batidos

Frita Batidos
Ranked #8 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Ann Arbor must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Frita Batidos is a must-do when in Ann Arbor. A frita, batido, and some shared fried plantains will leave you pleasantly stuffed (and ready to walk around downtown). Oh, and be sure to have one of the cuban coffees before you leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    86
    12
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely delectable!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Made my annual trek to Frita's while visiting family in A2. There is simply the best energy, the best food and the best meal mates ever!!!! I am not always a fan of chorizo however their chorizo frita is the most popular frita and now i know why- it's incredibly delicious. Cooked to perfection and so moist on the super soft grilled bun with sweet chili mayo, the fries on the sandwich are an added bonus. I also sampled the gazpacho, chunky fresh veggies perfectly spiced. The batidos were ice cold and creamy but refreshing- our group had the passion fruit and "the lighter version" mango and pineapple with half the normal amount of ice cream- both fabulous. My nephew had the beef frita, one of my nieces the black bean frita with chipotle mayo, and the other niece "The best snack Ever- black beans, rice, melted cheese w/ fresh tomatoes and fresh herbs on top" which for her 10 yr old palate was a stretch but she liked it well enough to say she would come back and eat it again.
A couple other sides the mexico city corn and the coconut ginger rice were raved about by our table-mates. Another interesting fact the same young lady who helped us choose our food last year was here to help me again. Her name is Nina and she obviously takes pride in her work. The rest of the staff is helpful and friendly too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shmtw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
543 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Wow. Order a variety and share the experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We tried a bit if everything and it was all great. The Frita buns are terrific and the sauces were tasty. The twice fried plantains were covered in garlic cilantro butter and accompied by a another great sauce. Very happy w everything. We will be back on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Different Menue-Great Fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Try the garlic friesm but be prepared for real garlic. No need to worry abuot vampires. Service was fine. I suspect that it can be a bit noisy when it gets crowded. Give this palce a try/

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chomondely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and trendy place to be seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

You can almost feel yourself get cooler and more hip as you walk in the door. Even more so as you poor tap water out of the little bottles on the table. If that is your thing, then this is your place. But if it is not, then just ignore it (or chuckle at it) and enjoy the good food. The menu is limited to variations of their namesake sandwich and a few sides. But that is a good thing since that is why you are there. Warning, if you are on a diet or trying to not get anything on your tie, this might not be for you. But how can you go wrong with a fine selection of meat or fish, cooked or fried, on a bun with special sauce and handful of fries all wrapped in wax paper? I'll save you the guessing - you can't. Those are some good little sandwiches! Not a big fish person, but I think the fish sandwich has become my favorite. It's not cheap, but then by Ann Arbor standards, it is not pricey either. If you are in town and have already done the requisite Zingerman's lunch, then this would be a perfect second lunch. If you are regularly downtown and have thought about going in but figured you were not trendy enough - you probably aren't - but ignore that and give it a try. Guessing you will be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheckyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frita Batidos also viewed

 

Been to Frita Batidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing